Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Acid Adventure

by Infinerd - Jam Entry

*********HUGE NOTE: IF YOU HAVE EPILEPSY, PLEASE REFRAIN FROM EATING THE ACID IN THE GAME. *********

Also I didn't get to add all the audio I wanted to add :(

A = Move Left
D = Move Right
Shift = Attack
Space = Jump
J = Journal
E = Use (doors, bed, phone)
H = Take a hit of acid
1 = Enable Jumping Boots

The only way to stop tripping is to sleep in the bed (in case it hurts your eyes at any point).



A kid discovers an underground drug ring in some tunnels near his house, fight off the enemies and battle the bosses!

You can eat some acid along the way to improve your skills, but beware, if you eat to much you'll start to trip to hard!

(PS: I forgot to take pictures of the boss levels but I'm to lazy now and burnt out :P, guess you'll have to play to see huh ^.^)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#472Graphics(Jam)3.13
#530Fun(Jam)2.69
#553Theme(Jam)2.75
#605Audio(Jam)2.20
#641Innovation(Jam)2.40
#690Overall(Jam)2.50
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

The controls are tricky! Would have been good to have some contextual overlays ingame near interactive objects (doors, etc). The game is also larger than my entire screen (lol) so I didn't manage to get very far. Best of luck in the jam!

Infinerd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:24am

Gwinnell, I agree, the control scheme is a bit "meh" and I sort of realized after I submitted, also, yeah I developed the game with 1280x720 being the games res :X. I really didn't think anyone would have a smaller screen haha. Also, the contextual overlays, I was debating on it for a while, but decided not to put them in, well... just because I'm not sure actually, but I think I was going for a more "figure it out yourself" type feel. Not sure, but thanks for the comment!

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:28am

Beautiful art, I really wanted to get in an explore the world but was held back by some awkward platforming elements. The second door in particular reminded me of Alex Kidd in Miracle World and gave me hot flushes. Really like the main character design, I wonder if there are any other ways to engage the player?

Infinerd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47am

Warboys, I really appreciate your comment... just based on the fact that... I thought my art was terrible! It may sound stupid but your comment really did put a smile on my face. It's good to know my art side of stuff is getting better :P.

Also, what do you mean you were held back by awkward platforming elements?

Thanks again for the feedback!

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I think it would've been good to have less buttons. (Up for using doors, inventory button that combined the journal and the acid taking, etc)

Infinerd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12pm

It's quite upsetting I made such a shitty control scheme, it just wasn't the first thing on my mind but it's the only thing that has really gotten "negative" feedback. Controls are obviously a big part of a game, and it sucks I screwed them up so bad :'(.

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:13am

liked the graphics but the controls were kinda confusing to get used to and restarting all the way from the beginning is frustrating!

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Hi. Interesting idea. Something wrong with published resolution, have a huge screen but still it went over edges. Found the first platform section too hard.

Masadow says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I find the game way too hard :( Couldn't kill anyone. Graphics are cool though

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]