Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Glueck Auf!

by xandgate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Glueck auf!" is the traditional German miners' greeting. This game is about controlling the destiny of an ore reserve as time passes. You can employ miners, that dig deeper and deeper into the underground and bring valuable materials into the light of day, hire workers, which process them into goods that get exchanged for money, and scientists, whose research is needed to enhance the tools used beneath the surface. The game contains: -four stages of technological development -poorly drawn backgrounds and animations -sound effects for each stage of technological development -some background music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#96Audio3.66
#225Humor3.05
#530Mood3.00
#603Overall3.14
#659Theme3.15
#734Innovation2.82
#736Fun2.82
#762Graphics2.84

Comments

andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Love the music, assuming you made it yourself in the 48 hours.

Huder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30am

Could you upload compiled version?

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:11pm

I just keep going bankrupt :/

remmy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42pm

well made little game, it's impressive how you produced that audio in this short time. the beginning is not so easy, because you don't really understand what you have to do to not get bankrupt… also the actual gameplay could be a bit more different over time, since you kinda do the same thing the whole time.
i loved the ending though :P

xandgate says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57pm

@Huder it's available now

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I love the ending. Begining is really fuzzy (some explanations on what is what are needed) and once understood, the game is just "hire as many guyz as you can clik-click-click". Anyway, the ending is just so fun! Gratz!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Loved this, completed it. Maybe a little too easy once you understand the mechanics, but really nice.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10pm

At the beginning I get bankrupted very fast. Later I found that you have to keep the ballance between some of the stages,...so I went bankrupt not that fast :D A very unique concept. Good Job! Glück auf, Glück auf!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Sehr gut!

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I went bankrupt really quickly the first few times and almost gave up. It might be better to make the first level a bit easier and the later levels a bit harder, because once I'd learnt how to pass the first level I basically just had to keep doing the same thing to pass the subsequent levels.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Glück auf, Glück auf, der Steiger kommt....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFExrOSRDzk
One of my favorite german songs! ;)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Also, this one :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5p69gw04UrE
LOL! :)

voidqk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:36pm

kind of frustrating... it's hard to figure out what to do...

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

I would definitely agree that instructions would help a lot. Even after reaching the end of the game, I still don't really know what affects Satisfaction and what stock represents. The audio is quite nice though and the game is fun once you get it :D

Teesquared says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:35am

Interesting game. Using 1 1 0 got me going. Once you get enough resources in reserve though you can pretty much just coast. Maybe having a resource cap or some other penalties that force the player to keep micro managing the controls.

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Original idea when compared to the usual LD entry, but frustrating because even though I make it to the end I still don't really understand the mechanics. Some instructions would have been nice. Cool music!

Btw: on Fedora 20, I needed the sdl-static packgage, otherwise cmake would run fine, but make would fail during linking because it could not find -lSDLmain

YSelf Tool says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:09pm

5 5 1 seemed to work well, then I was bankrupt.
Knowing it's sellers, miners, scientists was useful.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Fine game, just telling which one is which at the beginning would be great.
Good ending.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I got stuck really early, but the comments helped me understand how the game works. Loved the ending and the music!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Nice game. I like how the managing resources took place. But I quite didn't understand on how to play it on the first time. :)

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:15pm

So, the music and art work well, but this could have really done with more instructions. I fiddled with settings and eventually got to a point where I could just leave the miners going and everything was stable so I won the game... I just wasn't sure why.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]