Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blunderer

by jtpup0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S84epiCgsJg&feature=youtu.be

Blunderer is about a pixelated dude trying to piece together the universe and find its way out of color limbo.

CONTROLS:
WASD to Move

When I thought of the theme "Beneath the Surface" for Ludum Dare 29, I wanted a crazy mechanic that disorientated the player bur enabled them to delve deeper through the levels and visually by seeing them as they complete see the next mazes laid out before them as a paralaxxing background. I chose a top-down view to a ball and decided it looks too plain; so Blund was born and put atop the ball to give a sense of comical relief snd direction. Blunderer's main mechanic was born through a box collider error, I set up WASD and hit a wall without adjusting a few constraints on the rigid body and the player and camera would spin like crazy, this "glitchy-rigidbody-physics- spinning!" was quickly made from a bug into a feature because it reminded me if Sega's Sonic 1's bonus levels that made me cry and laugh as a child.

This is my first Ludum Dare entry; was very insightful and fun, I'll make sure to attend another one in the future.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#411Graphics3.39
#482Innovation3.16
#526Mood3.02
#633Audio2.62
#734Humor2.19
#850Overall2.88
#1063Fun2.38
#1135Theme2.28

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Gah! forgot to add source code!: https://db.tt/iwApltGY

Quady14 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:50pm

LUUUUuuuuUUUU!

I've never blundered such a beautiful blunder as thus, thine blunders hath blundered their blunderations straight into my very heart. My head is spinning!

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Such trippy visuals, I love em! Cute little character is great too. Spinning around lots of fun until you get dizzy and super lost trying to find the exit. Nice job overall!

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

Lovely background visuals.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Amazing backgrounds.

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Oh lordy it's like a nightmare (NiGHTSmare?) version of those Sonic bonus levels :D Right down to the familiar but somehow wrong wrong wrong music. Enjoyable, good work!

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

My brain! Really lovely style though!

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

I'm not sure I got anything out of it other than a sensory trip, but it was enjoyable if just for that.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

Got very lost, got very dizzy, and had a cool time! Really like the bright pulsing background. Also the avatar might be the best 2D-sprite-in-a-3D-game ever.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32am

Ya is coo mon! The little dude made me smile. :)

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

Awesome graphics, it sucked me in.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

All the spinning! And boxes!

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05am

I love how the world rotates when you collide with objects :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24am

Interesting. The style is pretty nice. Rotating the level is cool, but it doesn't seem mechanically relevant.

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31am

Incredible visuals, pretty cool game, though I did get suuuper dizzy playing it! Nice job

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

Acid Trip: The Game

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03am

You managed to make something very special with very simple things. I really like where you took this. I'm putting this in my "game to plays when I'm high" folder.

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

great visuals, really was making my head spin.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Cool game! I loved the original style it has, and the colors are great!
One thing that bothered me, was how far zoomed in you were, so you couldn't see the structure of the level very well. But other than that, great work!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

Really fun to play with, even making the character spin around is amusing. Great job! :)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

"You spin me right round, baby right round" That this game in a nutshell.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

I am so dizy!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10am

As a person who enjoys interesting experiences, I liked the game. It looked very nice and the visual cues were interesting once you caught on to them. The use of the theme for beneath the surface was interesting, though I felt it was maybe skimping over it a bit. Also liked the music, though the main theme in the game sounded exactly like the first half of the Sonic the Hedgehog 1 Special Stage theme. Good game, though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

A really interesting experience!! Like others, I like the background and the music is so hypnotic, well done. A nice first participation though it may lack a bit of challenge.
And also, please put a disclaimer that player shouldn't get up from their chair right after playing!!

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Really love the aesthetics! Hard mode is tons of fun.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

one of the best ones out there! I love it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

DRUGS ! I ove the visuals, the use of theme and the innovation ! Well done !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Neat. I made this almost fullscreen on my 30" panel (by using CTRL+ in firefox to scale up the Unity window). At one point I got the level spinning so fast that it started making me slightly nauseous. Funny but I never had motion sickness before getting an Oculus. It seems like I'm much more susceptible to it now.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Very trippy indeed! My one complaint is the music... I had to mute it within 1 minute of playthrough...
Its a cool idea all around!

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

The character reminds me of Katamari Damacy, so adorable. XD I was having a good time, then bumped a wall and proceeded to find out I get motion sick easily. Fun little game!

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Very dizzy now.

KuGrou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

My head is still spinning.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Nice take on those awful spinning mazes!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53pm

This is one of the most visually impressive things I've seen so far, but the the gameplay is tame by comparison. :(

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56pm

beautiful and sickening! It made my head swim!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

My head hurts!

grim2020 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55am

Twisted!

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57am

So trippy and disorientating! I really love the aesthetics and the copious amounts of spinning :)

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

A cool concept, though it's a bit nauseating while you play it.

moonmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26am

I love this, I get a score of one and I am happy to spin forever. Nailed the music.

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

Dat was a trippy ride.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Weeeird but awesome at the same time xD. Amazing experience.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Interesting concept and visuals. And now, if you'll excuse me... *faints from dizziness*

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Getting a Fez vibe from this. Very nice :D

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:07am

cool

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:13am

So much colors! It's fun but I can't get past the red maze! What do those yellow glowing cubes do?

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Too much fun, I literally, figuratively died. Nice work!

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

Played trough the easy mode, and thought that the game would be much more interesting if the ball had huge inertia. Good thing I also tried hard mode! So much better (even though it took me 10 minutes 50 seconds to pass the first "layer" :D). After the initial relaxation I did get somewhat bored though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:40am

The idea is very innovative!!! With a little dizzy @o@ Nice try!

TomCooper3D says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:36am

this was alot of fun "hard mode" should just be the only mode because its waaay more fun to play like that. i would have kept playing longer if it were easier to find all the orbs maybe smaller stages but i played for like 15 minutes and only beat one level. i love watching the world spin around me and my little planet! really cool

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I love the details of the game. The background is deep and colorful, and the transformations makes it even better. It's also surprising that I can see the next level in the background, maybe I should remember it (but it's too difficult).

May 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

lov ethe gfx/music .. i kep thinking it should have rotated so the guy was on top with the block underneath tho?! .anyhoot good job :)

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I was like, yeah I got this! then I bumped into a wall and the whole thing started rotating haha! good job!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:34am

Protip: Play while drunk.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:18am

Ohh my!
This is beyond freaky graphics.
The play well with the gameplay.

The little man is awesome!

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:40pm

hoo...that made me real dizzy real fast

xgeovanni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:31pm

The music gets quite repetitive after a while.

snickersnacks says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:40am

Woah motion sickness... couldn't really figure out the point of the game but it looks pretty neat.

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:52am

SENSORY OVERLOAD O__O

Awesome.

May 4, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Very creative controls
The background scenario is absolutely stunning

Waterman7 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I don't usually get motion sickness, but this was really hard to watch at times :D
(When not spinning) I loved the colorful visuals and seeing the next level beneath me. The music fits in with the overall mood really well to. Good job!

tchem says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Fantastic visuals..... very immersive and cool... i like of the absortion of the theme and all work,,,, great!!!

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The concept is really unique, but now I know how John Romero feels: I've never gotten so motion-sick from a game in my life.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:32am

Warning do not play drunk! Lol. I really did start to feel a bit sick when the room was spinning so fast.

I like what I see here, but it's not super addicting yet. I can wander about and get the room to spin and occasionally I see glowing orange cubes that I can pick up, but it doesn't seem like there's much point to it, nor any real danger or challenge to it. But the visuals are amazing and I don't think I've ever played a game that has looked or felt like this. Motion sickness will limit how much I can get addicted to a game like this, but if you instill a compelling goal and an appropriate challenge curve, this could really take off.

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Wow, my eyes X_X

It was an awesome experience :), it reminds me of Sonic 1 bonus levels

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:23am

The background when you're on the higher levels is so entrancing! I made it all the way through (well, on Easy mode anyway). Great job, especially for your first LD!

Tuism says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:00pm

OK, A for effort, and very different, very polished, and I do like it, but there are a few things that felt like really core mistakes to me:

1. The whole spinning thing, while novel, makes no sense. I have no idea why I'm spinning - the trigger to the spin and the spin doesn't make sense. How I stop the spinning also makes no sense. as "cool" as the spinning is, it felt shoehorned. It does nothing but hamper my memory of where the heck I was going.

2. Navigation. I have no idea where I'm going - if there was any way of navigation I missed it. Add the spinning to that and you felt like you're perpetually - exactly - going in circles.

3. Agency - the two previous points make me feel like I have no control over the game and my actions. I don't know where I'm going, I don't know how to "get better" besides going slower. Which just produces a really slow and frustrating maze.

So if you can address the above concerns, the core mechanics can actually work. I feel like the player needs to be given more to work with (some kind of direction to go), and I feel there needs to be more reason for the spinning or something about the spinning that makes sense, or is controllable.

Sorry if the above sounds harsh, but I really liked your game and I'd love to see it improve :)

Cheers!

Teesquared says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:36am

Interesting take on a maze game and nice visuals. Movement needs work and rotating the level was disorienting and confusing. Nice ending.

Managore says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:49am

I really like how you've layered the different levels. Great game!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I really like the concept of this! Mainly because I like innovative games and secondly just cause it really reminds me mine entry a lot ;-) But it lacks some challenge -- like something what makes the game more replay-able or just enjoyable. Also the camera is just too close to main hero in my opinion. All in all it's very good job for your first entry overall ;-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]