Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ExploitedMiner

by awanegenebayo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, for my first LD, i choosed to make kind of a mining game in Java/LibGdx.

I used Gimp for the sprites.

The goal is to survive the maximum days possible. Every day, your supervisor will asy you to bring back a certain quantity of gold (of course the quantity increase over the days).

The fact is, you can get stuck in the mines, so you have to be careful where you step! If you are not back in time to your supervisor, Game Over.

I lost about 3 hours sunday because all my ressources disappeared, i still don't know how...

I eventually achieved to recover the deleted files and finish on time.

I Didn't have the time to include sound and music, and there is no menu neither...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#399Theme3.44
#438Humor2.60
#532Graphics3.20
#748Mood2.78
#812Overall2.92
#976Fun2.50
#1015Innovation2.42
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

Good pixel art, interesting puzzle aspect. Gravity felt a bit extreme.

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05am

space, "d", and the mouse all worked for me. For some reason the "a" key didn't respond.

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20am

Love it. Very similar to mine, java and everything. Your art and animations are way better tho. Nice game

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Using "Q" to get left doesn't suit people using qwerty keyboards.

The concept is interesting, but it felt like there were limited ways to get back to the surface as platforming was difficult.

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Yeah sorry for the "A", i thought most of the users would have a qwerty keyboard (i have a azerty). i should have made two configurations, i hope it's still playable! (try alt+left shift to switch from querty to azerty)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Thiss game is good but I got stuck MANY times down while mining.
But That's the type of game I like.

runvs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Hi there,

nice game you created. I like the pixel style and though the texts are a little bit long to read they are quite funny.
I noticed some bugs:
the gold will be stored if the player's x position is at the right side of the map. y position is not changed so you can store your gold under the earth.

I also do have qwerty (qwertz as for the german layout) but i had to press the q-key.

Gravity also feels a little bit strong and junping is not possible as accurate as i would have liked it.

But it is a great Game!

caranha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Very interesting idea. The game is still a bit rough, but it has a lot of potential. People have already commented on the q-a issue. Well, I didnt manage to complete the first level. I got 1000 gold, but nothing happened.

Having somewhat more expanded instructions in the beginning would have been nice.

Thanks for the game, and congratulations on completing your first ludum dare!

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

caranah : Thank you! When you have enough gold, you have to wait until sunset (before the night is completely here outside) and go see the man. If you are early, nothing will happend (you are supposed to bring AT LEAST the amount and work until sunset) and if you are late, well, the man won't like it ;)

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I managed the first and second level, I like the mining strategy!
Little minus though: once you got that strategy, it's plain grinding.

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Got stuck until I found the good strategy. It's a shame you lost hours. I would have has the time to add a music and a menu which would have raised the mood note

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Funny little game ;)

Joshua_Burr says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:19pm

On OSX it tells me that the jar is damaged and can't be opened. Looks fun though!

Crefossus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:04pm

I like the lighting effects and the floating ui to show your gold. Like the different mood from underground to above ground. Good feedback for where you can dig/cant (red/green)

Could improve by showing controls (left was q and right was d for me.) Is there a build/place block?

Sanguine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Mood and graphics were nice, unfortunately I kept getting stuck though :(

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:10pm

This is a good start, except it's impossible to get back to the start point once you start digging. Maybe make the jump height higher or decrease the gravity. Also, you might consider deploying as a runnable jar instead of a zip file. People are lazy and most people won't bother unzipping it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]