Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Revolve

by Shire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Revolve is an arcade style game for the iPad in which the player rotates a planet in order to save that planet from burrowing invaders. The invaders begin to fall off of the planet when they are rotated below the equator.

The repository is on Github, just make a clone. The application runs best on an actual iPad device (simulator has low FPS).

here's a gameplay video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BkR0zz1LkV0&feature=youtu.be

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#107Innovation3.86
#269Fun3.39
#332Graphics3.52
#360Overall3.38
#408Theme3.43
#599Mood2.94
#723Audio2.44

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

Screenshot looks cool. Wish I had an ipad around to play it.

Galvus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

Hey, the web link goes to your source instead of the game. Plz fix so I can rate.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Both of your links go to the source :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

Sorry, can't rate it because I don't have a Mac or an iPad.

pythong says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54am

no ipad.- maybe you should make a youtube video of your gameplay so people can rate?

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05am

The best one I have played so far, really nice game!

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36am

Really great game and worth the effort to get it running on device. Very simple spin mechanic that has a surprising amount of depth to it. I managed to get a high score of 182.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

Looks very good! I think your game mechanic is awesome (I want to make a spinny game for the iPad also). I'll build it to test when I get the chance. I hope you release it onto the store!

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Both your links goto source

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

The web link didn't open a game for me

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

I've added a youtube video of gameplay footage to the links:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BkR0zz1LkV0&feature=youtu.be

I'll put in on the app store soon for accessibility.

Thank you for your comments!

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

I liked the gameplay video, game looks interesting! Well done!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Awesome concept! Love it!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46am

Looks like a great simplistic concept. I wish I had an iPad now! :)

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Wow, interesting mechanics. Will try on the device.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Cool idea, but the enemies fall off so slowly when below the equator that it doesn't really feel fair. Nice illustrations though, really would have benefitted from some audio.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46am

Fun idea, wished I could play not only watch. Great job!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:26am

Nice game! Too bad you did not make it for the web.

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Interesting concept -- looks like it could be pretty addictive. But I too lack an iPad to play it on.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]