Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mantle

by NacelleGames - Jam Entry

This is the Ludum Dare 29 Jam Entry for Nacelle Games, LLC (find us online at http://nacellegames.com).

This game was created in Unreal Engine 4. After downloading the Windows version, please unzip the file to your computer, and then find the game's executable by following this path:

\TheMantle_NacelleGamesLLC\TheMantle\Binaries\Win32\TheMantle.exe .

NOTE: For the Windows version, the following packages are required to be installed on your computer for The Mantle to run (you may already have these, but it's a good idea to try to install them. If you have it already, it will tell you):

-- Visual C++ Redistributable Packages for Visual Studio 2013 (download the x86 version) - http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=40784

-- DirectX End-User Runtime - http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

The game will run best on mid to high-end PCs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

Missing: MSVCR120.dll
what to do ?

Daylon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37am

I think you have to install this: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

I remember another person having Unreal Engine 4 issues and that seemed to fix it for them. Unless you've already got Visual Studio 2013 installed...

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

There are some problem,,, the game dont run

NacelleGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

It's come to our attention that some users are receiving an error when trying to play the game.

If you are getting an error that says you are missing the MSVCR120.dll file, you can run the Windows System File Checker by following these instructions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833
We are going to be porting the game to HTML5 within the next few days as well.

NacelleGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

We updated the Entry description, but wanted to post a comment as well. After some testing, we found two packages that are required to be downloaded and installed for The Mantle game to run (you may already have these, but it's a good idea to try to install them. If you have it already, it will tell you):

-- Visual C++ Redistributable Packages for Visual Studio 2013 (download the x86 version) - http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=40784

-- DirectX End-User Runtime - http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

Sorry for the confusion. (Note: this is for the Windows version only)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:52am

Nice graphics and fun with something else (UnrealEd) besides Unity.

GarethIW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:59pm

That was a laaaaarge download and a lot of hassle for a game that was ultimately just okay. Are you sure you need everything in that 600mb pack file?!

davidwparker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Need html5 version...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]