Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Anomaly #LD48

by dan.marchand - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An infinite runner with a twist: There's a second mirrored character beneath you!

Navigate tricky random platformer segments, avoid dangerous obstacles, and make sure the two characters never collide while trying to get the high score.


Created with: Unity2D
Assets: Unity2D free sample assets. Background from CC0 opengameart.org art. Sound effects from bfxr.

Source Code: https://github.com/dmarchand/beneath-the-surface

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#419Innovation3.26
#654Graphics3.00
#743Fun2.81
#748Humor2.18
#754Overall2.97
#804Audio2.26
#852Mood2.65
#867Theme2.87

Comments

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

Really nice animation and artwork on the main character. It's a cool concept, too. It has a Flappy Bird appeal, in that it's fairly unforgiving but also keeps you wanting to play to break your high score. Nice job.

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:47am

Cool idea, it feels neat. Super difficult. My high score after about 10 deaths was 5. I think you have too much text up front, it makes the game seem overwhelming.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

Really like the concept, great job!

eteeski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

Cool idea :) That made for some interesting gameplay. Nice sprites and explosions too.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Nice graphics and clever idea. Having to control TWO characters at once is rough.

One problem I noticed was that it seemed possible for the random level generation to make a gap so wide, you cannot jump over it -- unless it requires a max held-down jump at the last minute, and I just did it wrong?

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09am

That's tricky! The procedural generation is pretty good but maybe with a designed level you'd be able to try over and over and eventually be able to beat it. Or you could use the same random seed over and over.

Really cool idea, good execution of the mechanic, and nice running animation, just a little on the hard side.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10am

Too many impossible-to-overcome situations that arise from the level generation for my taste. Seems very highly dependent on luck to get past a few points.

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10am

I like the concept! Really nice. Perhaps just a bit too difficult from the start.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Difficulty seems insurmountable without a lot of practice, and the jumping can be inconsistent between the two characters and against walls. I enjoyed it when I wasn't facing those issues though.

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

nice concept. game hard as hell.. high score of 3, shameful

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Really cool concept, and fun too. I think it got too challenging too quickly, and I occasionally ran into an impossible jump. I think if you smoothed out the level builder, you could have a really nice game!

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

great idea, super hard.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Cool concept, but really hard to control!

Monoquartz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Cool idea, but difficult is too high, as others said. ^^

lukepilgrim says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:32pm

cool idea but i could only play for 3-4 seconds. its really hard!

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:52pm

I love the concept ! really good idea ! the game is really tough :)

garygreen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Clever idea. I wasn't very good at this game, but I still enjoyed it. :-) Good back story too about why the robots get destroyed.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]