Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeons of Dragorath

by killthealias - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Pseudo-Random Roguelike/Twin-Stick Shooter.
(If anyone has a copy of Game Maker: Studio with HTML or OSX support, please contact me! I would like you to help port the game! contact me at killthealias@gmail.com)

You use the WASD keys to move the player and the mouse to point and fire your magic at the enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#442Audio2.94
#646Humor2.31
#700Fun2.86
#830Mood2.68
#953Overall2.76
#1034Graphics2.42
#1073Theme2.43
#1158Innovation2.14

Comments

Neonlare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

Intriguing, simple little game. I feel like some more colours could help with this, but the basis of this game is fun in it's simplicity. I think this should be built upon sometime, since it seems to have something here that could be pretty interesting to explore with a larger scope :).

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

Strangely addictive. This game looks very simple on the surface, but it's the little touches that really make it shine. There isn't anything particularly revolutionary here, but the graphics are consistent, the sound design is solid, and the controls are tight once you get used to the movement system. Well done!

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

I wandered around for a bit. Fun for a few minutes. I'm not sure if there's anything you can do besides wander around, collect coins, and go to other floors (there's no guide to controls).

aneeslol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31am

I wish the windowed resolution wasn't so tiny, haha. But this is pretty neat!

InvisibleMan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Cool dungeon crawler. My highscore was 775 and floor 4 :D

One thing that was a bit annoying were the black thingies that would disappear and reappear. I at first didn't know they were bad and thought they were teleporters >.< And it was pretty much impossible to tell where one would appear unless you had seen it disappear. Some sort of warning system might be good, unless they don't kill you as they are appearing (I didn't test this theory though, and just tried to completely avoid them :) )

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

A solid game, rogue-like fun, though I feel the theme was underutilized. Also I liked the music, but the more I heard it, the more I kept imagining it like duck quacks.

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

This reminds me a little to the old Tower of Druaga from NES. But without those cryptic secrets.

I like it, as a base. I was pretty happy playing it, but after some time I was wondering if there was an objective.

I hope you do implement random dungeons, or else give them some variety, someday!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I love Game Maker! I like the audio, it added to the game. I couldn't figure out the purpose though. So after milling about for a while I gave up.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34am

It looks pretty cryptic, like my own game, so I enjoy it a bit ;)

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39am

nice game, some color would have helped improved things, and more enemies would have been nice.

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:41am

simple and fun, really hated those pink orcs that ran around at the speed of light, and the seeming random pits haha

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:35am

It was okay but a bit empty.

Cash says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Good game but the enemies walked around randomly,and it was easy to kill them. Also the teleporter appeared only in the corners of the level so it was kind of easy to find the next one

Parappa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Ah! I remember Dungeons of Daggorath! I had that game for my CoCo 2 as a kid. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]