Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

BeneathTheSurface

by CupcakeMedia - Jam Entry

There were supposed to be robot lasers.
The controls are typical first person shooter.
Tab toggles the cursor, if you can't figure out how to get rid of it!
I left in the crouch, even though it messes up the weapons, just because ... I like to crouch. I'll fix the weapons if I can think of a good way of doing so.

You're in an underwater laboratory and you have to kill a number of sea ... people that are in that laboratory with you. And they throw fireballs at you. Kill them.

I didn't get around to doing the robot lasers. D:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#166Overall(Jam)3.53
#203Humor(Jam)3.03
#236Mood(Jam)3.36
#304Fun(Jam)3.11
#326Graphics(Jam)3.50
#385Audio(Jam)3.03
#511Theme(Jam)2.86
#635Innovation(Jam)2.42

Comments

skymarionsky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

Love this game!!!
The robots are tough!!!
Btw, the Windows link seems to be broken.
I got {"error":"INVALIDORMISSINGCOOKIE"}.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I'm sorry! I fixed the link to go to a website first, you can download it from there.

TeamOnBack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Overall Nice work on the game love the microsoft same (well female version) as the audio voice made me laugh

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

It is a nice game. I like the lightning. It was very fun playing.

Akz- says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13pm

This was really impressive and fun. The robots can take quite a beating though :)

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Very nicely done. It's very rare to hear voice acting in an LD game, and that was especially well done. I will admit I'm fairly bad at FPS games so I was overrun by robots several times and couldn't get to far.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Portal humor? :)
AI crashes after you stand behind the robot.
But it's fun to play :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

It looks good! Tough, too!

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

I loved the intro. The game looks good and control fairly well. Good job on the entry !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Absolutely superb entry! Damn difficult though...

I love your style, and throwing an FPS as solid as this together in the time is impressive!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Nice work, it's pretty fun to play! I especially like the graphics.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Loved this. Looks good, voiceover was awesome, good pacing, gave me a chance to get used to everything before putting me up against any bad guys, always had enough but not more than enough ammo at any given time, really well done!

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

That's a HUGE level for 48 hours. And the gameplay is fine (although I don't like how those see rabbids move through doors where I can't, clearly: unfair). Great job!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53am

Nice game! It's a huge project for a compo. I'd add more ammo to the levels, I take drobots drop health or bullets randomly, I killed a few robots, got only health and had to run through several enemies searching for ammo.

alastaira says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01am

Is the web player broken? I click Start Game and see what looks like the first screen with text at the top right that says "I wonder what this game is about" and "Ooooh a robot talking" but can't move or do anything?

giginet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I was surprised to graphics that is unlikely was made in a short time! But I did not kill the enemy even shot a gun.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

The atmosphere of this game is extremely great!

niculistana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55am

I'm wondering if you considered putting BGM in the game. I really loved the robot audio. Otherwise the game feels good! I can see the potential in this!

If you'd like, feel free to check out my game over here as well, people say they liked the music and it has potential:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=35234

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:09pm

good ambience! I was transported to a future time. Reminded me to hall 9000!

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:45pm

It seems to me that the aim is a bit wrong, it would be nice to have a ball or something indicating where I'm shooting ...
I could not survive much against the evil robots, but there are improvements to the weapons? I started to hate these robots and wanted to blow them up quickly.

Yword says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Impressive level and environment! Well done!

Masadow says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Really really good !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]