Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

60 Seconds and a Wake Up

by CayoDaves - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Leagues under the sea, join us as we watch a man face the odds! Stay tuned, we'll be back after these commercial breaks...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#505Mood3.04
#544Audio2.80
#595Humor2.38
#626Innovation2.96
#630Graphics3.04
#780Fun2.76
#798Overall2.93
#1069Theme2.44
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

A good, simple retro pixel game. Your visual style and animations work well with the SFXR-style sounds. I'm at a loss at how to use the fire extinguisher, though...

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

I really like the graphical style

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08am

Nice one! Very simple and polished!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

Like the gameplay, real stressful and and nice graphics too...

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Hey Nesis, thanks for the feedback. Part of a good game is communicating to the player, and it could use some more polishing. To use the extinguisher, press X to pick it up. While you are holding it, hold space to use it. Press X again to drop it.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Hard but great!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I liked the idea, but was a bit confused about what I was meant to do. Tried a couple things. But everything seemed futile!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Very nice idea, simple and attractive gameplay

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Pretty nice :-)

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Most of all, I loved the suspense. You never feel safe. You never feel like you will prevail (except for the last few seconds before winning), but still hope and pray that no crack will open in next too seconds while you're extinguishing fires. Great atmosphere. Quite challenging too, took me something near 20 tries to get right timing. Channel 3, contrasting with drama is a nice touch too.
Collision detection was a weak spot, though, sometimes you are stuck in the wall, sometimes you unexpectedly go through it, and you are never sure how to actually put that fire down. It kind of disturbed atmosphere, but never broken it, so I still loved this game a lot.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

The graphics are nice and I like the idea of the game.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Maybe it's just me, but I feel like the cracks made the bar go down too fast. It seemed like every time I got a crack I would have zero bar before I got through fixing it and getting back.

Maybe I just suck, though :P

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Sergraz, I definitely see that issue. Dominator_101, after the jam I'll keep tweaking the difficulty.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:24am

Love the graphics, looks awesome

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Interesting idea and enjoyably challenging. Feels quite overwhelming at first -- and I don't know if that was your intention (?) -- so I was initially confused, I must admit.

Bekokstover says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Really hard, I can't figure out how to win this. But it looks great, and the idea is nice.

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:20pm

At times I felt the controls were a little wonky, but this may have been my browser acting up... -_-

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]