Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sprout

by Nic V. - Jam Entry

Sing to flowers to make them grow and spread happiness!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Theme(Jam)3.92
#62Innovation(Jam)3.80
#79Graphics(Jam)4.26
#82Overall(Jam)3.73
#85Mood(Jam)3.81
#158Humor(Jam)3.18
#199Audio(Jam)3.44
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

Adorable art! The seeds started bugging out a bit, and it didn't let me plant them after a while, but you did a great job with the concept! I really wish there was some audio, though. I'd love to hear that cute little thing sing!

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

Cute; seemed like it was close to being really fun but not quite there. It feels like a speed based game, but it didn't get fast enough. Also, there was a pretty debilitating bug where planting locations would get "stuck" in place on the screen even when you walked around, and stay there for the rest of the game, covering up other things.

njvas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Thanks so much for playing! I did quickly fix that bug, so it should actually be playable now :)

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Cut, fun, interesting. An impressive effort.

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

A nice little game with an interesting concept!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Very cute art style, great sound design. This is one to remember!

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Very cute art :)
Unfortunately it's not very fun to play, because it gets repetitive quite fast and there is never a sense of danger or urgency.
But I like the concept, something cool could sprout from this :)

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:24pm

neat game very relaxing!

alhvi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:54am

This game is so benevolent and cute. I really liked the concept. I think it needs to be more fun though. Or maybe enhance the idea that the player is contributing to happiness. Maybe including random texts at the end of the day related to the amount of happiness, like, today a butterfly visited your garden, or today you made someone smile with one of your flowers. Don't know, those are just some random ideas :P. But I really like this, it made me think about the good things in life :). Well done.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Hehe, interesting and cute. A nice first attempt. ^^;

jsspiegel says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Really cute game! The controls took a little while to figure out, but it's a really nice idea :)

mcapraro says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:54pm

love the little sprout character and the sounds

dector says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:18am

Lovely art, smooth animations. For the goodness :)

May 5, 2014 @ 1:17am

This game is delightful and it looks awesome. You almost have a winner here. Just figure out how to make it more fun.

Nic V. says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:11am

@alhvi thanks for the suggestions! I was thinking of doing something similar, but I like how you're talking about it even better :D

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:17am

I always knew that this happens beneath the surface, but I never saw it this clear.
Nice art style and good sounds. Funny little game. Somehow a little repetitive. So maybe you could add some tactical elements (need to grow specific flowers to get the right seed color back).
In level 3 I failed (time was over), but got to level 4 anyway... The keyboard control to seed (J/K/L) needs two presses to work for the first seed.

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Gorgeous game!
The graphic was beautiful,
and the sound was great too!(altough it could be better imo
with some bg music or something to make it more alive).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]