Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Membrane

by whendricso - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#30Innovation4.16
#288Graphics3.61
#658Overall3.08
#693Theme3.11
#942Fun2.56
#962Audio1.79
#1041Humor1.58
#1088Mood2.30

Comments

whendricso says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01am

Source code can be found at https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/46924537/MembraneSources.unitypackage

All other source code is included with Unity or as part of the Sample Assets package on the Unity store.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50am

What a cool concept. Can't for the life of me get all of the orbs, but love the physics and such.

villhest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54am

Awesome! Really cool stuff!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

Really really cool. :D
I love when the whole sheet is so destroyed, it becomes chaos! :P

whendricso says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16am

Thanks guys!

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05am

Very interesting, and unique game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Thanks for the source! Looking forward to experimenting with this. I was just reading a tutorial about tearable cloth the other day, actually--

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40am

It was really fun playing with those physics! I'm not sure what that mini camera was for? I guess just to show off the reflection effect? The reflection effect did look really cool, but that camera popping up was kind of annoying.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

Neat physics!
The 2nd camera was kind of annoying and messing with the gameplay however.

whendricso says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00am

Thanks for the feedback, I'll adjust the cameras in the non-LD version.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02am

Cool concept, although the controls were extremely frustrating... Couldn't get all the orbs. :/

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06am

Well it's an interesting concept, although I am absolutely terrible at it. I rolled around for 4-5 minutes and only managed to collect a single orb, I was always on the wrong altitude to get them :(

It's a cool prototype, would make for some very interesting puzzles. Good job!

mr_tag says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

wow, very promising concept! would love to play a refinded version of this some day.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice physics, cool visuals! needs some more work on gameplay though.

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Interesting concept, I felt like the membrane tore too quickly. Nice submission!

skppo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53am

Very hard, looks nice.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:57am

REally interesting. I liked the fragility of the surface. I would have preferred the ball to move a bit faster, the delay in response to my button pressing became a bit annoying 0 although perhaps that's the challenge, to be ab;e to predict the moves in advance?

whendricso says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Great! Thanks for the feedback!

@philip_sinclair: The delay in response is caused by input smoothing. If I remove it, the ball will tear the cloth instantly.

You can move very fast! If the cloth is tearing, spin max speed up-slope. This may save you from falling in the rift.

I'm adjusting the orbs in the non-LD version to make them easier to pick up.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:05am

Very novel concept. Visually very well executed. I would really like to see where this idea takes you. You certainly have something very unique here. Well done!

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:07am

Really good use of physic engine. Very hard to collect even a half orbs, but the game is a good challenge.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Interesting, kinda cool, way hard to actually play. The concept was neat, but often times the force of me trying to get to something before something cut the membrane would rip it open. It's cool, just needs some better pacing/polish.

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:39am

Very beautiful game, mesmerizing. The mini camera was nice to help gauge which orbs were on the surface... although the surface tore too easily though?

Masadow says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I found it absolutely awesome, even I did not understand how to play it

noom says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:20am

Awesome concept, very cool indeed. I found it very tough to play (hard game!) but I still had a lot of fun. I gave you 5 stars for innovation.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]