Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

GuppyShark

by tanjent - 48 Hour Compo Entry

GuppyShark is my first entry in the Ludum Dare competition.

In this flash game you play as a Guppy and your motivation is to jump above the water to collect beach balls and avoid the attacking sharks. If you reach the golden trident at the end you will advance to the next level. You charge your jumps by diving ... beneath the surface!

To hear awesome music and sound effects make sure you click the music icon on the main screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#669Audio2.55
#699Humor2.24
#767Graphics2.83
#792Theme2.98
#972Fun2.51
#1070Mood2.34
#1106Overall2.55
#1198Innovation2.02

Comments

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 12:17pm

It's actually quite good, only unbalanced. There are both too many sharks (too tightly together) and too many beach balls. So in a way - it actually really well balanced.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47am

What's a guppy going to do with all those beach balls. Or does it have a sinister motive to strip the beach goers of their beach balls and stop them having fun. Are the sharks the good guys here?

Maybe I read into it too much :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

I like sharks and games.
And there aren't that many good shark games.

Nice pixels made this game a good play.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

It might be my machine, but there was slight latency between clicking the screen and the guppy jumping. Or maybe I'm just being a bad sport! ;-D Really nice graphics and sound, nice game.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

The gameplay concept's there but needs some fine-tuning. I was able to get through the game just by holding the mouse button, the motion is really sharp and sensitive, and there's hardly any room to practically avoid the sharks.

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19am

It's fun, but I feel like collision boxes are a little messed up. All in all, great work!

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

Good game, needs balancing, not much difference between the levels. Maybe if it was a continuous game?

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59am

I found myself click mashing at the top of the water...
flappy fish?

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:58pm

lol not bad. I found it hard to control. Overall good concept though :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Nice attempt at adding a thing or two to the 'flappy bird' type game. Didn't like the delayed jump, I made it to level 6 by just holding down the space bar. Nice start to something, with another mechanic or two, and some more thoughtful controls, you could have a solid mobile game!

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Fun game! made it to level 6 on the first try. I enjoyed the music and sound effects :)

Zolkren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Cool gameplay and graphics.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice first submission!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice job on your first submission. Made it to level 7 on my second go, gets pretty difficult.

magicspark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:45pm

I thought it was well-balanced, I finished the game in the first try but with very little life!

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Webpage is not available :(

tanjent says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Oh, I hope the page is working for you now, at least I can access it. Also thank you all for the nice feedback! I've been away for a few days so haven't had time to log in / rate any more games. Now I see so many good submissions and inspiring gameplay/techniques/ideas and it's hard to not think of your own as kinda 'meh' :) (I try not to look at the jam entries too much). Well my personal goals were reached with this entry (use Haxe/OpenFL, try HaxeFlixel, try Tiled, record sounds, do some music, draw some stuff with the Wacom). Also a huge goal was to limit all this do something do-able <24h and put it out there for feedback.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]