Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into the Light

by okeedokeben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run away from the collapsing rocks behind you, and run toward the light! Avoid rocks and use TNT to blast through in an emergency!

Use left/right to move and up to throw TNT when available.

Made with GameMaker:Studio, sfxr, Reason and love.

This is my first LD48 entry. I'm @benthornburg of @okeedokestudios. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Audio3.36
#658Overall3.08
#680Fun2.88
#746Theme3.04
#794Graphics2.80
#878Mood2.63
#899Innovation2.60
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

nice music, pretty fun smoke was a bit annoying , i like the music you should work a bit on graphics though

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Could you publish a Linux version? I think Game Maker should be capable of doing that.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I failed to reach the surface!
But Good game!

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Liked it. Wasn't sure if there was a victory condition at first but then I noticed the light getting brighter.

My score:
Time 130
Rocks 19
Tnt 3

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Nice game, liked it! Nice music too.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Cool, simple game. I completed it in 62 seconds :)

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

25 sec, 1 rock, 2 tnt. Great game, may be the level is a bit too small too apreciate it.

drnick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Quite small. I get you are a beginning developer, so I hope you keep learning to develop games.

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49am

@UnixXNova: Yeah, I need to brush up on my pixel art before the next jam. Usually, I beg someone else to do my art. :)

@YSelf Tool: I wish I had the funds to purchase the Linux (and HTML5) export modules, but Windows + Mac are my only options right now. I could put out a Mac port if that would help.

Thanks for playing, everyone!

Newt_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Really cool animations and music. Great work!

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:00am

The audio was great and the concept ok, But the graphics annoyed me somehow

Zyrconium says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Took a while to work out that TNT didn't knock you down with it's explosion down to an unlucky timing first time I threw it. Gets kinda random near the victory condition. Kinda fun though.

BarkingCat says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:59pm

That music, so majestic. Really nice little game.

okeedokeben says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:59am

Just upgraded my GM with HTML5 export, so there's a web version now! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]