Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Arctic

by CapsE - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help this little Penguin to escape the mighty orca and eat as much fish as possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#484Audio2.88
#688Theme3.12
#841Graphics2.71
#1010Mood2.44
#1027Innovation2.41
#1081Fun2.35
#1152Overall2.47
#2022Coolness20%

Comments

Miltage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11am

Good work. You should leave some instructions on how to play, it was confusing but I figured it out. It's really hard to jump over the ice bergs because of the penguin's speed.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Liking the way the water is different when you are out of the water and when you are in it.

The water could use a scrolling effect to give the sense of motion.

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

nice little game :)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

This is a neat game. I wish that I could see further ahead. If I'm near the surface of the water then the game is the most fun (cos you can jump and so on), but I can't see what's coming so it become a bit too luck based for me.

Satisfying controls and a neat concept. Looks good, too! Be proud!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

It's really confusing at first, needs to be a bit more polished.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

The game felt a bit broken. You could place yourself out of harms way and let go of the mouse and just rake in the points.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

nice little game (- :
sadly the only reason not to hit a iceberg was pure luck on my part : D

looking forward to a more polished version?

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22am

It has potential, but the controls feel a bit off. I didn't feel as graceful as I think a penguin should feel. Lots of good obstacles, though! The music is a bit weak. I like the graphical change when you break the surface.

Lerc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:32am

Critical flaw is the safe sone where you can't die. Having a requirement to breath would fix that nicely.

Crefossus says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:59am

The camera could give the player space depening on which way they're facing. I hit an iceberg and had no idea it was there! Exploring downward was fun until I died.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]