Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries


by DraKlaW - Jam Entry

This is a small horror game. Well, it's intended to be. the chapter 2 is missing and the end has been cut (no boss fight, you always "loose"...), but you should be able to finish it.

If the game is slow on your computer, try update your browser. If it's still slow, you won't be able to finish chapter 1 because your character will move to slowly. Sorry.

- People seems to have difficulties with the dark passage in chapter 1, so there is the tricks in case you are stuck: there is a switch that seems to turn off the light, but that also turn on other lights further away. So just take a look at the path, turn the switch and go in the dark.
- The blue light in chapter 3 can be reloaded by pressing enter near a blue crystal.

Edit: I updated the "Web (at LD29 end)" link so it point to the right version (the game at the end of the 72h + minor bug fixes), because some of my teamates messed around and modified some things... Now it should be ok.

Edit 2: The link "Web (lastest)" contains an updated version with less bugs and the chapter 2. Chapter 2 where almost done for the deadline, but a bug in zombies AI made it mostly unplayable.

Edit 3: The "Web (lastest)" contains Chapter 3, boss, partial french translation, auto-save mechanism and soon, the boss fighting mechanics. WARNING : right now, you can't beat the boss.

Downloads and Links




randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Very nice illumination tricks. Also, was it supposed to end on the first level?

Miltage says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

"I should search for these objects. Oh, here they are."

I couldn't figure out what to do once I get teleported by the pentagram. There's some blue stuff, then a passage which leads nowhere.

A good attempt, but it doesn't seem finished to me.

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:51pm

What are we suppose to do in the dark after the blue thing ?

May 4, 2014 @ 2:01pm

good writing, but the music totally ruins the mood :( you should go for drone or something on those lines for the background audio

May 4, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Most of the content are nice. I'm dead by lava, and stop because of lag. Nice game though. I'd like to see the final version, and without lag. :)

May 4, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Not really a bad game, but the performance just breaks down on the first real level... I mean 8 FPS, really? Why? Oo I guess I would have played some more if it moved at a reasonable speed! :)

May 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Good use of lighting and the film grain effect. Spent a little too much time stumbling through the dark, and then I died. Would have liked to have seen what came next!

pikkpoiss says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:56am

Nice world-building given the short amount of time! Forcing the player to wander into the dark on purpose in level 1 is twisted, and really made me feel alone and lost :) Kind of wish there was a checkpoint before the lava, because I died right away. Level 2 felt a little thin, but I certainly could feel this being really cool once it were fleshed out.

mtinkerhess says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:00am

I like the distorted visual filter and the dynamic colored lights. Great music too! It's a little frustrating to try to find your way through a maze without seeing where you're going.

quantumpotato says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:41am

Walked into the passage.. into the darkness then couldn't walk anydirection even though I could see light. Hrm.

DraKlaW says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:07am

footSound are supposed to help you to find your way in dark, and a presure plate too ;)

DraKlaW says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:18am

last update make the dark passage in chap1 easyer

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]