Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Loudest Ballerina

by whalebot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your dad gives you specially hand made ballet shoes made of steel. After he requests you wear them at your next dance recital, you overhear your instructor telling the story of a monstrous creature buried beneath the ballet studio.

Now you must perform, making as little noise as possible with your steel shoes, while still attempting to please your father with your performance...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#37Humor3.90
#46Audio3.87
#58Innovation4.03
#110Overall3.77
#116Theme3.83
#134Fun3.63
#202Graphics3.78
#225Mood3.45

Comments

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22am

SO MUCH JUICE

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

Silly and fun concept, and it's fun to play. Well done!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

I knew I was going to love this just reading the description. Hilarious concept. Gameplay is pretty difficult because it can be hard to get across the stage for your next move. Also I had to make a control cheat sheet to remember which move was which color. But it doesn't make me love it less. Dying is half the fun!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

AM I JUST DANCING ON... OH MY GOD.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

Really good. The controls were not clear at the start. Ended up mashing the keys to get the right combo.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

This is incredible. It's funny, of course, but the gameplay is solid too!
I love how much you've been able to convey visually with the chunky pixelated style, too.

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Thanks everyone to has played it so far. Glad you enjoy it. If it helps you remember the controls:

(from left to right)
Z X C
jump spin bend
Red Yellow Green

Now go make dad proud! (and don't get eaten...)

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Well the formatting of those controls got screwed up so let's try this:

(from left to right)
Red: Z (jump)
Yellow: X (spin)
Green: C (bend)

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I really liked this game! It was very hard and the controls took some getting used to but overall it was very well done.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

SO COOOOOOOOOOOL. Loved the graphics and the music and the theme. So much fun

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08pm

17298 before I was violently eaten in what might be the most original concept I've played so far. Bravo! :D

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Brilliant idea. The color coding feels a bit vague/arbitrary, so it would've been nice to have reminders of what corresponds to what in-game, but other than that this was superb.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Awesome concept and awesome game! I got really good at it, got 113651 points!!! Woohoo!

Miltage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Very well made, probably my favorite entry so far. Original concept and well executed. I love the spot lights and the screen shake.

Hard to remember what action to perform in each spotlight though, and the meaning of the UI bars were a little vague.

Overall, great work.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

The game is very well put together. The gameplay is lacking though it could use some more depth.

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

For those interested, my high score is 158227. 1000 imaginary points to anyone who can beat it!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

The spotlight colors aren't very color-blind friendly. Really fun concept, though!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

neat little game. Really enjoyed the graphics. It's a bit rough to start to remember which move to do in which spotlight, though.

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Wow this is really excellent. A brilliant idea well executed.

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

A great concepts perfectly executed and exquisitely spiced up with a brilliant sens of humour. The best entry so far for me.

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Really silly. Love it :)

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

One of my favorite game so far, I haven't played much since I'm at work but I'll play it more tonight. Fantastic idea!

ceosol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:29am

Good stuff. Excellent job on the animations.

Andy Gainey says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Great attention to details that added to the experience.

I would have appreciated some options, however. Mostly I was just following the lights. Having some choices to make could have made me feel more engaged and involved. For example, the jump seemed to make the crowd extra happy, but could be made as a high-risk/high-reward option. Or more strongly play the monster against the crowd; that is, placating the monster often works against pleasing the crowd, and vice versa.

Also having some heads up about where the next light would be could help. It felt pointlessly frustrating when the next light was clear across the room and would be gone before I got to it.

whalebot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:48pm

@Andy Gainey

Thanks for playing! You actually do have some choices (although they aren't made completely obvious I'll admit).

-Doing any move at any time will win over the crowd (unless it is done in the incorrect spotlight, they really don't like that...). However, doing the move outside of the spotlight makes a ton of noise that will wake up the monster.
-As you realized, the jump wins over the crowd the most, but it also makes the most noise if you don't land in the spotlight. It is also worth the most points. (high risk/reward)
-You *can* placate the monster by simply not moving (making less noise) or doing fewer special moves. However, this tends to make the audience very unhappy (especially your dad, who worked so hard to make those shoes for you...)
-As far as the spotlights go, I realize that this game is not incredibly deep (due to the 48 hour limit). So you'll notice that as the game progresses, it gets harder and harder to get to a spotlight. This was intentional, so you don't get a stupidly awesome high score and then never play again.

I will be implementing online high scores in the future, so that should add more incentive for replay :)

May 4, 2014 @ 3:56pm

One of the most original entries around here.
Bravo!

GFM says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Amazing! Everything is so good... graphics, audio and gameplay...
The game was also really well balanced. At times I thought it was quite easy, but then I'd be to far from the spot light and everything (noise+anger) started to build up... until I was able to control everything again. It was fun maintaining this balance. =D

Snoother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really cute concept that's very well executed. I love the dichotomy of pleasing your dad and the audience v. not being killed by the monster. I'm sure there's a metaphor in there somewhere. Oh, and it's a wonderfully innovative use of theme. Loved it!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Hahaha, this is so awesome. Your concept is just...both ridiculous and amazing at the same time.

BuriTeam says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great game! I just wished it wasn't so difficult to remember what to do in each color. It was cool that the leap can be used to travel faster around the board.

mechabit says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:50pm

brilliant

May 5, 2014 @ 12:39am

Hey! Ballerina is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

tchem says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:50am

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,,,, the theme is perfect to me... great graphics and mood,,,,, really fantastic....

May 5, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Funny interesting game. Nice use of theme as well! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Haha this game is really funny! Well done!

danialhyatt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:05pm

I just kept on playing it. highscore : 55459

Really good work!! This is excellent.

mcapraro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:33am

very cute concept, i totally woke up the creature - doh!

radmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:45am

Hilarious concept, I love it! The risk/reward mechanic you run into with timing the red jumps is amazing :D It's obviously hard to learn the controls - some kind of indicator onscreen would help a lot. (Actually you could do something similar to one of our older LD entries: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=18627)

Also did you really do the music yourself in the 48hrs...?

paps says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:10pm

haha nice concept

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:54am

Great idea!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:23pm

So fun! Although I kept mixing up yellow and green lights.

SonnyBone says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:03am

Man, this game is really really rad, but just so you know... you should've entered the Jam and not the Compo due to the inclusion of pre-existing audio assets (Waltz). Rules mumbo jumbo: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/25/rules-and-guide-re-written-for-maximum-clarity/

Just for future reference since your journal doesn't show any previous entries, so I assume you are new to Ludum Dare.

Other than that, really freakin' awesome entry. There really isn't much to say that hasn't already been said. The absurdity of the premise really seals the deal for me. I played with a gamepad and mapped the colored gamepad buttons to the proper spotlight dancemove to make things really easy to remember. Got to about 100k with no end in sight so I just jumped up and down to see what would happen and WHOOOOMMMM I got ate lol

May 18, 2014 @ 7:02am

Fun game and liked the way you used the theme with the dancing danger from below.

jsmars says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:52am

Really fun concept and really well executed, good job!

klianc09 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:17am

Really fun and well executed. The most interesting part was jumping from far away into a red spotlight.

I'm gonna claim your 1000 imaginary internet points, because I got a highscore of 201694.

I noticed that the crowd gets angrier faster, the longer you play. So at that point I was, the crowd was actually getting only slower angrier when doing a pirouette instead of making it happy. The only thing that could really effectively please the crowd were jumps, but sometimes I had 3 red spotlights right after another, and than I had like 20 times only yellow and green spotlights.
And the waiting times between spotlights should get shorter too (or at least some indication for the next spotlight), when the crowd is getting faster angrier. Because else you can't do anything while no spotlight is present (because you have no idea where you should walk and everything makes noise).

But that are just my rants on the difficulty. Overall it's really well done and feels like a complete game.

PS:As SonnyBone pointed out: If you made the music yourself, good job. If you used preexisting music, then it should be a jam entry.

PPS:Also, I think selling those noise reducing spotlights instead of making games would be far more profitable.

Diptoman says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:23am

That was a really amazing entry! Everything was spot on. The gameplay was so much fun! And the arbitrary story to make up for the gameplay setting was just...too funny.

Jeremias says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Oh my god. If someone asks me what I did/played today.... I hope nobody asks me what I did/played today. Many stars for you :D

May 19, 2014 @ 10:47pm

:-) Good job! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]