Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Clobsters

by HartLaboratories - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Local multi-player lobster arena battle!

Wonky controls and lots of action!

Player 1 : WASD-R/Gamepad
Player 2 : Arrow-keys P

Check out a battle here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vo4rYiZBXrM

Edit: I decided I like Clobsters enough to pursue it a bit further. I am looking into a small scope console release. I registered Clobsters.com, check back there or follow @HartLabs on Twitter for updates.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#77Humor3.62
#113Innovation3.83
#143Fun3.61
#323Overall3.43
#530Mood3.00
#544Audio2.80
#579Graphics3.14
#1163Theme2.17

Comments

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

First rule of the clobs club: we don't talk about the clobs club. 5/5

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

This is pretty cool. Nice work.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Don't clob with the clobster. Fun!

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Would be nice to see some network play so us lonely people could play without frantically searching for a friend, other than that, my only other complaint is the controls feel a little "floaty" at times.
Very original concept and a lot of fun to play around with.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

reminds me of starwhals with lobsters, very fun!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I had no idea being a lobster was so harsh. Kudos on the leg animation. The opponent AI isn't too challenging though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Not sure what it has to do with the theme, but an intersting game mechanic. A bit like sumo, so you have to puch the other lobster into the sea urchins to slowly kill him. I only played 1p so didn't really get the full experience, but it was nicely polished with amazing character physics/animations.

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

At first I thought the controls were quite clumsy, but then realised this simply added to the fun and struggle of the game! Very well thought out and original :)

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Cool game, lobsters need to drink less

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Very fun!

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Animation is great, very fluent, but it's also very confusing to get into.
Too bad I don't have anyone to try it out with me :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I never would have thought it but now I know that I have always wanted a lobster fighting game.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Multiplayer :) I love the idea of movement and there are pro moves to be made! Easy to learn hard to master!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48am

Kinda felt weird playing by myself, but the game is entertaining even just bashing two lobsters together awkwardly.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Clobsters is such a great name, this game made me grin wildly! I love the physics, it's just a shame it's not a tad more predictable. The encroaching sea urchins also made my day.

Joshua_Burr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I really like this. The legs look very nice.

fueelin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:53am

I lol'ed.

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:54am

Played this one with my SO and we had a lot of fun, lots of laughs. The physics were crazy and we couldn't figure them out, kept spinning around all over the place. I loved how the ring kept shrinking, very nice touch. I think if you polished up the audio this could be a really good game.

minibutmany says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:57am

Really crazy controls! I love the way the legs are animated on the lobsters. When you do the official release, if you do online multiplayer, I can imagine 6+ player battles could get really interesting!

mcapraro says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:08am

i really liked the way the lobsters moved, even though it was a bit challenging at first

littleball says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Nice game, just need another player...

Well done!

peterlavey says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:48pm

That was fun! was difficult to manage but that made ​​more challenging, the instructions could have been elsewhere were not seen, but the best I've tasted so far, good job! :)

Raiyumi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Really nice! Movement was a bit weird, but it felt really solid as well.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]