Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fridge Magnetism

by pixelpig - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Very short, I know, but this is my first game jam and I underestimated how short 48 hours is n_n

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#19Humor4.03
#220Fun3.47
#243Audio3.28
#251Graphics3.67
#283Innovation3.47
#468Mood3.08
#484Overall3.25
#1053Theme2.47

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:26pm

A bit far from the theme (it's in the game, though), a bit short, but cool !

rberiot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32am

really funny! although the gameplay is a bit limited. great musics & gfx

Suyo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Loved the graphics, I wish the game was longer and the enemies a little more difficult. The only hits I took were from the father, the dishwasher only shot a projectile once and the last enemy didn't attack me a single time.

pixelpig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

I'm thinking of extending it for my post-jam edition :D

TheRare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

This was a really solid game, even though it was a bit short. The idea was awesome and the theme was used nicely. Controls were a bit sticky and enemies were lacking difficulty, but overall this is good!

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

haha cool game! like the graphics and the idea!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Funny! :)

Sergraz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:10pm

That was awesomely absurd and very funny. Short, but nice and fun.

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

I have to say, the game was fun, i loved the pitch ! You made me laugh.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Funny and weird concept. Art and music are awesome.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

Haha fun game! Graphics and audio are very good

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Pretty interesting take on the theme. It was a little hard to tell when to dodge though.

cudabear says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Wow, this is a crazy silly game! Controls were a bit rough, as was collision. It made it kind of hard to tell when was hitting/being hit. Still, a very nice proof of concept! And very nice music, too!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Nice audio and pixel art :) Congratz for your first game jam :D

wicht says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Interesting take on the theme of abusement. Nice art, nice sound. Thanks!

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:45am

I love the "no son of mine" line. Short game, but I'd like to go on future adventures with "Fridge" is Fridge his first name or last name or is it a "Cher" type 1 name deal? I'd play a whole game centered around him, particularly if he had a pretty standard issue first name, like William Fridge

pixelpig says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:03pm

@joe40001, I'm thinking of making an RPG type game centred around him, but with it being insanely hard, like the first Zelda, with only 1 life. Would you play it? William Fridge sounds good xD

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:54am

I'm totally there, you could make the game like a really fun/challenging Zelda style game where all the characters are appliances but there is never justification given for this. The game never calls specific attention to it, it's just a great rpg zelda game where you happen to be a refrigerator.

lol, it would be awesome.

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Aha what a concept!
Not sure to get the link between the fridge and the theme, but that was fun.

Melondonut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:49am

perfect! simple but sooo creative! love your game. I love the pixel art!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]