Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gotcha

by White Rabbit Games - Jam Entry

And this is it, my first Ludum Dare submit ever. I made it solo, but I prefered to submit it to the jam...'couse in this way I've got more time to polish it :) I try to made a little twist in the theme, so "Beneath the Surface" in my game is the human body. 3 game mode, easy controll, infinite number of levels...and I really hope everybody will enjoy the game, at least a little.
Android version avaible: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.whiterabbitgames.Gotcha

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#395Theme(Jam)3.12
#487Graphics(Jam)3.07
#510Fun(Jam)2.74
#554Overall(Jam)2.89
#556Mood(Jam)2.74
#601Audio(Jam)2.26
#601Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Which things you did and did not want run into wasn't very obvious to me at first, but it was a pretty fun game overall.

mr_tag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I liked the creature designs

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Really good job on the graphics, each of the sprites looks very well done. Playing as a white blood cell was fun, but playing as a virus was a little boring because the white cells didn't make an effort to chase the virus.

drfrankie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Funny

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Pretty fun actually! I think I liked the Virus mode best! Good job!:)

dan.marchand says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Funny. In Virus mode enemies can spawn on you, killing you instantly.

Main mode is fun, though.

Zednaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

It took me a second to get what the goal was, but when I did I had fun trying to dodge and weave through the creatures I didn't need in order to get the ones I did.

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

When I run away from the viruses, I feel concerned and alert! If you continue to develop this, when I play as the white blood cell, I feel confused what I'm supposed to eat.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30pm

The creature designs are fine! but it need animations. (but I know how hard is to create animations and all with the LD deadline!)

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

Quite nice for your first project. What to catch wasn't clear at first but easy to figure out. Nice job!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51am

This is a clever implementation of a simple idea, which is exactly what a ludum dare game should be. Like others have said it took me a minute to figure out what I was supposed to be doing. Also this might work better with tilt controls. You might also want to fix your android link so it's actually a link.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:21am

Hi. Like your multiple parts to objective per level, good idea that. Sound not quite up to standard of the visuals IMO. Good job!

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:26am

I really liked the white cell and viruses design !

quickfingers says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:29am

Great stuff, I played that for quite a while :) Does become a nice challenge!

Masadow says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I had the same theme twist in mind but couldn't manage to make a game from it. It seems like you did it particularly well, good job !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]