Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mermurder!

by Root Beer Barrel Boys - Jam Entry

Flirt and Kill! Seduce local fishermen with your mermaid charm and attack their boat when you're ready to strike! Be sure to keep their interest though, or they'll try to escape at the first sign of trouble. Drag as many fishermen to the depths as you can while avoiding the terrors of the deep!

Controls:
MOVE - Arrow Keys
DASH - Space

Game by ROOT BEER BARREL BOYS
www.facebook.com/rootbeerbarrelboys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#31Theme(Jam)3.96
#47Humor(Jam)3.78
#74Fun(Jam)3.62
#96Innovation(Jam)3.69
#102Graphics(Jam)4.17
#124Overall(Jam)3.62
#215Mood(Jam)3.42

Comments

javierecf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

Nice animations and good controls, I like the art and the style in general, you can plan a strategy to catch more fisherman in one go, nice entry.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

Very creative idea!

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

fun idea! controls worked decently. at first couldn't figure out how to snag fisherdudes. not enough flips.

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

This is awesome!
I love the fish that follow you around and the sexy pose when you jump really high our of the water.
One thing I can't figure out is how to make the camera follow you down underwater.
sometimes when I play the camera follows me everywhere and other times its locked so I cant go diving.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

I killed some dudes!

I like the flocking of the little fishes that gather around you. The controls work really well around the surface when you're jumping out of the water but deeper down they're a little tricky especially when everything is a one hit kill.

Really funny concept, solid execution!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07am

This was pretty funny and a good time! The art was very nice and I loved little touches like the fish swimming around you. I felt like reaching the bottom of the sea was a little too hard and took the focus away from seducing the fishermen. A small bug: you can swim beyond the edge of the screen at the water's surface. Overall though, very well done!

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09am

Absolutely loved the concept and art style. So evil :)

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

I really love the effort put into all the mermaid's animations! They're smooth, cartoony and really appealing. I love the sparkly pose she does as she flies out of the water. :)

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:13am

I really liked the idea! The art was also good. The controls made it rather difficult though; changing directions when you bounce against the sides makes it very difficult to stay in control.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

Loved the idea and the artwork!

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Very nice concept, loved the way the fishes follow you!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

The graphics wer awesome! I loved all the animations and had some good laughs with the sharks, the high jump-out-of-the-water and the way some fishermen seemed to swim backwards :P

Had a lot of fun! It was a great game. I didn't seem to get what piranhas did though

neosam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:51am

Great Idea :)

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:02pm

The concept of this game is really cool !
And fantastic artworks !
keep it up (:

May 5, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Great game! And I don't know that I can't use space to dash. :v

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Super creative! Can't stop laughing while playing.

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:24am

Really fun and lovely graphics, I like it a lot! :)

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:27am

I liked the graphics and distraction mechanic of the top of the map but the depths were extremely lacking, graphically and mechanically. The controls were pulling me in directions I didn't want to go which got tricky around the angler fish and it got pretty claustrophobic in places. Overall though it's fairly solid.

~AlucardX60

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]