Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The World Beneath the Surface

by CrocaDino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The World Beneath the Surface is a Puzzlescript game for the Ludum Dare 29 Compo. The game revolves around a society that lives above some strange secret, but nobody has ever explored it due to fear. One day, you decide to travel downwards using simple technology to unravel this secret for yourself.

Use the arrow keys to move and the X button to swap blocks. To clear each level, you must clear blocks by arranging them into rows of three or more in the amount of turns provided. There are fifteen levels in total.

Puzzlescript was used for programming, Famitracker for the music, and the Game Maker Sprite Editor for planning out sprites.

Note: the music for the game turned out very quiet for some reason, so you may need to turn up the volume to hear it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#203Overall3.58
#248Fun3.42
#394Audio3.00
#510Innovation3.12
#530Mood3.00
#589Humor2.39
#592Graphics3.12
#949Theme2.72
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

That was wonderful. I was a big fan of tetris attack back in the days of the SNES (I have it on an emulator now) and always enjoy a good puzzle game.
on puzzle 14, it can be solved with 1 fewer move than is given. Great game.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

Fun puzzles. Too bad I'm not very good at puzzle games! Nice interweaving of story/setting in between puzzles too. And I really enjoyed the NES music, volume was fine for me.

Draknek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Presentation is rather at odds with the story, haha! I can't make myself see the visual style as anything other than "abstract puzzle game".

Wish the blocks disappearing triggered again so that the explosion graphic always disappeared instead of only sometimes.

Wish I could move the cursor through solid tiles (and it just changed colour to show you can't swap): the way I have to navigate around them is awkward and doesn't add anything.

Realising I'm glossing over the good stuff, just trying to give useful feedback :)

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Great puzzles, well done!

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I only got to level 10, but I enjoyed it a lot, good job!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:24am

Despite being a big fan of Tetris Attack, there were some bits and pieces here and there that detracted from your presentation. Being unable to move the cursor through the blocks was necessary for one puzzle, but for all the rest it just made things more tedious. More time after a failed puzzle to look at what was done incorrectly, and a shorter pause in the audio loop, would have helped as well.

However, serious props for writing all of the scene changes in rhyme, and for adding a narrative to the game. It helped tie it all together. Meter next? :D

xandy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:24am

very cool puzzle game with story peaces. i only wished there was more connection to the theme than the monologues in between

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Very smart level design. Great job. I think instructions at the beggining are useless since the game is easy to understand.

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Liked this puzzle and it's music

avalonknight says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:27am

It's a decent little puzzler. The gameplay works quite well, and is challenging thanks to the limit of moves you can do. The downsides are the story/theme and the gameplay felt disconnected, and it is somewhat hard to tell apart the cyan and green apart (though this just might be my monitor.). Otherwise it's good.

Reposted from Newgrounds.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]