Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface Z: Day of Survival

by Seraphina - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I give you "Beneath the Surface Z: Day of Survival." After four failed attempts I have finally managed to finish a Ludum Dare entry. ^_^ This isn't exactly what I set out to make. I wanted mouse aiming, but couldn't for the life of me get it to work right. So you shoot forward only. There's also only one level. Sucks for me 'cause I wanted to make more. Good for you 'cause it will only take a few minutes to play the game. Enjoy!

Update 1(Web only ATM, stand-alone update is uploading still):
-Added a main menu pic 'cause I forgot
-Turned death on <_<
-Increased the ambient lighting just a hair so the back dirt texture is kind of visible

Update 2:
Stand-alone versions finished uploading, so death should be fixed in those too. I don't have a Mac or Linux system, so I'm just hoping Unity's compiler did it's thing.

Update 3:
I've had to remove the web version. 000webhost suspended my site for a TOS violation. Not sure what I did wrong considering this game is the only thing I've added so far. Looking for a new place to upload it to now. =/

Update 4(Final?):
Put the web link back up. I'm hosting it on google drive for now. There is also a bug with the lantern that makes it not take battery power. But, in the spirit of the compo, I won't be uploading the fix since it's not game breaking or anything. It will be in v2.0, but that isn't part of LD48 =P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#629Humor2.33
#704Audio2.48
#758Mood2.77
#955Fun2.54
#1013Theme2.57
#1026Overall2.68
#1153Graphics2.14
#1183Innovation2.06

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

i guess you're not a fan of russian dolls? especially zombie russian dolls! i couldn't seem to die? my hp was -500... i liked the eerie darkness of the environment, and the lazer gun. maybe the camera could have been further from the player to allow more of the map to be visible?

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

the art look like is missing... but the ideia is great, maybe with more time. But great job with the features

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

-50 HP and still alive! And we can walk on zombies without getting hurt, but the idea is good!

SyBen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Finished It but with a weird -10hp displayed, and the gunshot relying on moving toward the zombie can be frustrating. Still fun !

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Love the mood created by the music and lighting. The gameplay was a bit rough, and it actually took me about a minute to realise that the other people were enemies. But I enjoyed it.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I like it. Controls are good and the whole system works nicely. The only problem I found was I couldn't die. Health -50.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Holy crap, I totally forgot to turn death back on when I was done testing >_> I'm uploading a fix now haha. Not sure about the missing art though, it seems to be fine on my end. Unless you are talking about the back wall texture. With the light that low it doesn't seem to show, so I'm going to bump the ambient light up just a hair.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Also, being able to jump on their heads was intentional. In fact, it's the only way to get one of the health packs lol.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I liked the lightning in the game and it was challenging. It should have some kind of score system.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Very fun and attractive game. Addicting gameplay, and the simple graphics are for some reason, very satisfying. Great game, good job.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Cool little game. BTW if you turn off the light and then take a battery, the light switches on but the battery level is not going down.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

Well that's an interesting bug/cheat lol. I'll have to fix that. Thanks for playing!

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

I liked the "cannot see without flashlight" idea quite a bit. It could be turned into a weapon (used to scare/blind zombies). Insert cool gfx and this could work.

Good job.

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:17am

Weird an funny.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]