Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Dig!

by QubedStudios - Jam Entry

"As an evil intergalactic corporation your goal is to pillage a (fortunately inhabited) random defenceless planet, and maximize your profits by digging for gold and E.T. Atari 2600 cartridges."

It's my first Ludum Dare participation, was aiming for the 48h compo but ran out of time.

Did not have time to add audio and more game content. Spent too much time working on that voxel engine! :-/

Made using Adobe Director 12 and Photoshop CS 4 on a 2012 Mac mini.

The Web version requires the dreaded Shockwave plug-in.

If you get a black screen with the Web version on Windows, right click and choose "DirectX 9" as a renderer or try other renderers in the list.

You might have better luck downloading the Windows or Mac version of the game.

***Latest version 1.3 fixes a problem which made vertical scrolling jittery, should be much smoother now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#147Theme(Jam)3.62
#164Innovation(Jam)3.48
#245Graphics(Jam)3.70
#417Humor(Jam)2.44
#443Overall(Jam)3.10
#536Fun(Jam)2.68
#662Audio(Jam)1.56
#667Mood(Jam)2.38

Comments

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Could not run windows version.
---------------------------
Planet Dig.exe - Bad Image
---------------------------
C:\Users\JOELE_~1\AppData\Local\Temp\TempFolder.aaa\proj.dll is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error. Try installing the program again using the original installation media or contact your system administrator or the software vendor for support. Error status 0xc000012f.

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Graphically really impressive, but the lack of game content besides digging made it less enjoyable to play. With a little bit more gameplay though, it'd be really fun!

Voxnexus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

looks cool but the windows version is broken, says something about proj.dll not existing.

QubedStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I'VE UPLOADED A FIXED WINDOWS VERSION. IT SHOULD WORK NOW!

(Sorry for the all-caps, I want to make sure people see this).

It seems that using Resource Hacker to change the icon broke it, so this new version has the default "Di" Director projector icon. Anyone knows of another free program that can change any .exe icon?

And thanks for the feedback, as its my first participation, it's really appreciated!

I do plan to expand the game and add more stuff eventually. Don't hesitate if you have any suggestion.

QubedStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

*it's (stupid typo :) )

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Web version screamed about wrong plugins etc, couldn't get it to run. Windows version shows only black screen with text info on the top and bottom after I start the game.

MrBlade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

The Windows version does not work for me. After the tutorial, all I am getting is a black screen with the info of the game. http://i.imgur.com/51qfh0t.png I extacted the .exe out of the .zip, so it's not a compression issue. Windows 7 64.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Wow! I haven't seen shockwave in a long time! I didn't really get the point of the game (I guess you just dig stuff in here?) but I did really enjoy digging.
It did lag frequently, though.

QubedStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

@Shigor and @MrBlade:

***I uploaded version 1.2 for Windows which hopefully should fix the black screen issue. (I switched the 3D renderer to Direct X 9).***

@porglezomp: Yeah I'm one of those crazy guys that still use Adobe Director despite the product being neglected for the last 15 years or so by Macromedia and then Adobe (the latest version can export to iOS though which is nice). Despite its flaws to me it acts as a rapid prototyping tool. Too bad about all the Windows bugs and crappy Shockwave plug-in issues. :(

I didn't have time to actually add a goal to the game but I also do find it enjoying to be just digging around looking for E.T. cartridges.

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45am

I know how you feel, we also didn't get around to adding audio due to the fact that we built our engine from scratch during the weekend.

Kudos for making your own Voxel engine!

zaratustra says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Does the game ever end?

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I dug until I got $150k. I guess it doesn't end?

The game is looks really good, and the digging mechanic is quite fun. Unfortunately there is no real purpose to dig. I'd like to see maybe purchaseable upgrades for the digging tool. Perhaps inhabitants on the planets fire at you and you have to fire back somehow. I don't really know. it looks promising, but the game needs more to really be a "game".

QubedStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:23pm

There's no actual end. I guess you could say the game ends when you run out of stuff to dig.

Maybe this could be interpreted as an environmental message? ;)

And you're right Kevlanche that it needs more gameplay elements, I ran out of time. At a minimum, enemies and/or a time limit and some kind of goal would have raised the stakes. Now I'm thinking of ways to expand the concept and got some nice suggestions from you guys.

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

This is incredible. Did you use a voxel engine or did you write your own? It looks great

QubedStudios says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Thanks Idkfawin32. Yes I did write my own voxel engine. I've been experimenting with voxels since 2003, way before it became fashionable to use them. (Back then I made a 95% conversion of the NES Metroid to voxels from the original graphics using my own voxel sculpting tool)

This particular engine cheats a little (it's actually just layered textured spheres) but the underlying data is a real 3d voxel volume (128x64x16).

CodeNMore says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Cool concept, very simple yet somehow fun!

Hayawi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Beautiful graphics

Robinerd says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:03am

Really impressive to hear about your experiences with voxel work way before they got popular. Didn't get too much into the gameplay, but it has a kind of relaxing feeling :) Still, I'm more impressed by the tech!

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nicely done! A lot of fun digging while rotating the planet. I didn't find the cartridge... yet.

magicdweedoo says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:47am

this is cool as!

CeriseGhost says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:00am

This was a cool game, I think the only thing that let it down was that there was no goal. Was a cool idea though!

BlazeCell says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:23am

Digging goodness. I like the feel of scraping off layers of stuff.

QubedStudios says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:43am

Hint: E.T. cartridges are found near gold (which is found in rocks).

DraKlaW says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:01am

I love digging so i love your game ! but the gamplay fall a bit short.
multi player, cumputer digging comapny concurent or any time scoring conccurence could be a good thing.
ET artefact could enchance your mining speed or give other gameplay bonus and not only cash (or a shop to improve mining capacity with sismo radar, diameter digging...)
PS : w is keyboard dependant, if controls are not customizable, letter with same position on any keyboard could be a good thing.

kristof says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:48am

Your voxel engine is impressive. I would love to see more of a game based on it. You should keep working on it!

Delca says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:53am

The lack of a goal itself was not that annoying since the digging was WAY more satisfying. The lack of sound was a pity though.
Anyway, this could be expanded upon to make a really neat game in the end. Great job!

607 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Looks good :)
My profit was 187760.
To me it was a little peculiar to find grass under stone and gold though :P
Also, yay for Atari! :D

rojo says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Fun concept. I "dug" the graphics. Some audio would have added a lot to the overall experience. Navigating with the mouse felt a bit wonky. Some additional mechanics could take the game to the next level, like having a time limit, having it cost money to dig, or being able to spend money probe for cartridges.

May 18, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice job ! Would have liked more challenge on the digging though

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]