Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Villager

by LukeZaz - Jam Entry

A text-based incremental game where you enter a village and help it prosper. For a while, at least.

My first Ludum Dare entry, and it was a blast to program. Hope you enjoy.


Notes:
-This is not just a gather/upgrade/repeat game. There is win/lose conditions - keep playing!
-The story is a bit choppy, sorry - I barely added it before the jam was over.
-There isn't much to examine, but do try to examine some of the things you unlock!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#230Mood(Jam)3.37
#260Humor(Jam)2.85
#321Innovation(Jam)3.11
#339Overall(Jam)3.27
#428Fun(Jam)2.91
#586Theme(Jam)2.67
#621Audio(Jam)2.00
#673Graphics(Jam)2.45

Comments

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

This was pretty cool. A text based game that was actually quite enjoyable not usually my type of game but i liked it! :)

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58am

I really enjoyed this, it reminded me of A Dark Room. I had a minor bug where it showed two "upgrade" options. The ending was amusing and unexpected, considering what the game had gotten me into the mindset of. I think it was right about the right length. It looks quite nice for a text game. The text entry didn't reset when you submit it, which was both nice when you wanted repeated commands and annoying when you wanted to change it.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

I tried to do all the usual text-adventure hijinks but eventually realized it was more about resource gathering than anything else. Got tired of it and looked at the source to see if anything interesting happened... should have waited! Interesting concept. Definitely grabbed my attention.

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

Nice atmosphere, but it ended pretty abruptly, at what criteria, I'm not sure. Also the text box not clearing was a mix of useful and annoying.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Not loading for me at the moment.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I think your website may be down :)

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Liked the atmosphere and concept, I enjoyed this!

HelixFox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Also not loading :(

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Not loading for me either...

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Idem, not loading :<

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Not rated yet... is hanging trying to load content. Maybe dropbox it ?

icereci says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Still not loading, put it on a mirror maybe?

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03pm

will not work for me. chrome/win7. the page wont load at all, very odd since most of the web games have worked perfectly for me.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Very cool game!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Sorry for the loading issues! My friend's hosting isn't the best. I've put down a Google Drive mirror for those that cannot play.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42am

I'm not a big text adventure guy, but this one's pretty cool!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Cool game, wish it moved a little faster. Love that ending

oranebeast says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great game, The simple white website leaves plenty of room for imagination of the village

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:30am

I wish I had known that it ran in real time. The first day or two I wasted time and villagers died because I wasn't gathering as much food as I could at every opportunity.
Sometimes I'd upgrade and nothing would happen.
After examining something once, the game would tell me I can't examine that thing when I tried again.
Also, the commands were unintuitive. Why couldn't I assist the farmers, instead of gathering food on my own?
I did see the ending, and I liked the concept. The execution was just a bit wobbly.

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Cool concept! Sometimes the text on the right side would wrap and overwrite itself or the next line down. Got to the ending!

Larzan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Great retro idea :) Like it, good typing practice, hehe

Almost says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:34am

I don't know what I'm trying to accomplish, but spamming "gather X" only to be told "you are exhausted (2s) is not fun.

LukeZaz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:55am

@Almost, read the full description - there's an ending. Keep gathering.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:09am

Hey congrats on your first LD! More feedback could be usefull at some points in the game (I had to look in the source to see why I couldn't upgrade the storage for exemple)

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:58am

I liked a lot about it, the execution was well done, the only issue was that (without spoiling things) there are kinda 2 threads to this game, and the one that matters you don't have much control over and the one that doesn't matter as much doesn't seem to have consequences or ways to succeed.

The whole thing was really inventive and fun, but I think it would have been more fun to allow for the possibility that the player ignore their concerns or investigate. But still I really liked it.

LukeZaz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

@joe40001
Thanks for your input. It really helps - I'm definitely going to flesh out this game and include more ways to lose, more ways to improve/add to the village, more mechanics, etc.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]