Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kill or Kill

by GreatBigJerk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kill or Kill is a game where you have to go about your daily routine while managing your urge to kill. On the surface you're an average joe, below the surface, you're completely nuts.

Controls:
- Arrow keys to move.
- Space to interact.

Space covers pretty much everything in the game, this includes talking to things(try talking to inanimate objects!), killing things, and dragging things.

Watch out for cops when you're on your spree! They can only see directly in the direction they're facing. They won't harm you when you're just doing chores.

Tips/workarounds to bugs:
- The hit areas around killed things can get a bit funky. So if you get stuck on a murder spree, get a cop to kill you!
- If you have trouble picking up the cat, go to it's left side and walk right up against the wall and then try to pick it up.
- Cops can shoot you pretty much once their gun is on screen. Your best bet is to watch the minimap very carefully. You can also kill cops when their back is turned!
- Billy can get stuck if you kill him right next to the ATM, wait for him to move into a more open area first.

Tools used:
- Unity
- Adobe Photoshop
- Adobe Illustrator
- bsfxr
http://www.bfxr.net/
- Magix Music Maker (provides instrument loops and tools to mix them together)
http://www.magix.com/ca/music-maker/

Note: The project won't run as-is due to me having to remove licensed libraries.

Things removed:
- iTween Extension
http://itween.pixelplacement.com/nativeExtension.php
- 2D Toolkit
http://www.unikronsoftware.com/2dtoolkit/

Free libraries left in source:
- C# Messenger Extended
http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php?title=CSharpMessenger_Extended
- iTween
http://itween.pixelplacement.com/index.php

Fonts used:
-Bebas Neue
http://www.dafont.com/bebas-neue.font
- Dickie
http://www.dafont.com/dickie.font

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Humor3.75
#179Audio3.43
#276Mood3.34
#308Overall3.44
#372Fun3.25
#440Innovation3.23
#474Graphics3.28
#554Theme3.27

Comments

vinull says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:06pm

It is an amazing game!

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37am

Love the art style and humor! great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

I couldn't get it to work right... It was very glitchy and un-explanative

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

Interesting.

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

Only real frustration is the camera hanging behind the player when moving quickly...Otherwise, I love the mood and the dark humour.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Disturbing... ;) but the art style is amazing. Though i wasn't able to pick up the "stray cat".

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Awesome presentation, looks and sounds great. Kudos.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

I liked the character art.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

Wow I was into it so much I actually jumped when I got shot... Excellent work.

Farfin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

yikes getting caught by the police is pretty harsh in this game

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

Very cool game. Picking up things is finicky though.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

HAHA great game! I was going to do something similar, but changed my mind. You implemented it well!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25am

Very nice design for the title graphics - grabbed my eye on the game thumbnails page. Nice interpretation of the theme too. :)

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Interesting take on the theme and liked the transition between 'normal' and 'beneath the surface' states.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Funny game!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

The game is pretty interesting, though it's really easy to get shot by a poiceman off screen with no way to respond to it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

I'm just going to leave this saxophone riff playing forever, thanks.

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33am

Had me laughing out loud for real, nice work dude. I especially love the meta-dialogue of the guards XD

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Fun but not liking how it resets all the way back to beginning when cops get you. Checkpoints would be nice.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

I liked it! It was really funny. It did feel too slow, and then it was really annoying when I got almost all the way through and then had to start over, but it was pretty fun.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Wow! Such a dark game! haha! I managed to get the cat stuck between buildings, but apart from that enjoyed it!

zed0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

This was fantastic, a great idea! Might have been nice to have the camera slightly farther out (I was using the minimap most of the time).

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

great take on the theme

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01am

Great game! Phenomenal take on the theme, and great job on the music too!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35am

Haha, awesome. Had fun playing it, the talking pick up items were great.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

Loved the soundtrack and general idea of the game. Well done!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

The music is amazing! Very nice game.
Btw, I wasn't able to pick up the guy by the ATM.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Heh, I like it! Not great music, and very funny, though it needs "reset from checkpoint" not "restart game"

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Some sort of checkpointing would be great. The mood is perfect!

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nicely done, great use of theme.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Like a cartoon dexter, pretty funny "I hate mondays" lol

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Bwahahahahaha maniacal fun times!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01pm

That's great!

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10pm

theme's a bit dark, but I like the art.

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29pm

this is creepy but I like it! as dark as my game xD

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Really good. Sneaking around the police is hard though

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42am

Gosh, THAT MUSIC!!! I just loved the music and the humor (dat mighty well)

well done, sir. Well done

where can I download that music??

Phobos001 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

Pretty fun little game. Reminds me a LOT of Postal II. I really liked the jazz music BTW ;)

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55am

This is pretty good, I think maybe having a range on the cops might make this a bit better but overall was great!

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

The was a little bit psycho in my opinon...

jayemjee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

...interesting concept. The art style is good considering the timeframe, though the sudden shift from the mundane to the genuinely horrifying might come off as...jarring. The radar helps, though having a bit more of a field of vision would help, as well. Not bad.

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

GARBAGE DAY!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Hahaha Very funny, i love kill the cat =p

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

Love the music and the humor! Couldn't quite figure out how to kill someone, but that's okay :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

when the dude changed to holding a knife, it kinda creeped me out. Very funny, and a really nice little game. Great job! :)

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

That murder face... Nice take on the theme.

Brick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

Wish there was some kind of checkpoint system, but it made it a lot more challenging. :)

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Interesting game xD I liked it

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08am

Awesome! Great art style. I looooove the way you interpreted the theme into your game. Also, I got a kick out of it when you see your killer side for the first time.

Just an FYI, the player on the minimap seems to draw behind the buildings, not sure if intentional or not, but it looks kind of off.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24am

Just havin' a gun break.

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

Had a hard time getting it, but I liked the atmosphere. It would be nice if the game had some animations too.

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22am

Great hilariously fun game!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25am

Very funny !

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

Surprisingly tense!

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24am

This game was hilarious and actually creeped me out, congrats!

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33am

Oof! Creepiest face. Can't seem to get past the "stray cat"

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55am

Great art and music. Like the transition between killer and normal. Collision for picking things up was rough. Great job overall.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57am

A lot of content for a little time. Like it!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53am

That was the most pleasant laundry basket i've ever talked to in a game.

The garbage bag needs to learn some manners, though. Nobody can boss me around like that.

I had a good time, the gameplay is simple but effective. Some of the collision areas were a bit tricky. I got taken down by the fuzz more times than I care to admit.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28am

Hitbox are really too tricky to enjoy it :(

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43am

This game is nuts, great use of the theme! The camera could be a bit further from the player though, especially when dragging corpses. I kept getting killed by cops I could never see coming.

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44am

very original.

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34am

Very interresing.
But the hitboxes are very hard

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

The cop kept catching me!!! :( I included your game in part 1 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/2Ja__FAtoAQ

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

Love it! Had a little bit of that metal gear solid going on...

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

Agree with the others, checkpointing would be great. I stopped playing after my 2nd attempt at the cat just because I didn't want to do all the previous steps all over again :)

monaarc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Great game !! I like the plot i would like to see it with better graphics but it works very well so it is a good game :)

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Kind of octodad meets "Dexter", quite funny, made me laugh for a while. By the way, the art is great.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Like a sped-up Postal :p Bizarre but well presented. Music's ace too!

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

It's..... unsettling.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Amazing game! Player looks like a ghost :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

nice art and mood :)

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I like the killing part! :D

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

haha, had a nice time playing this. really good arts and the look on his face is awesome.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Wow, this one was awesome! I really like your use of the theme, the music was great and totally fit the mood :)

Good job :)

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Fun game. I couldn't feed the cat to the ATM though. I guess I'm a bad serial killer.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

sound looks great

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Awesomely amazingly fantastic!
Impressive, nice looking and fun!

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Looks fun, but the hitbox is rather annoying

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Really nice concept but picking up things is a bit difficult.
Overall an awesome entry !

JaR_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

fucking scary

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

So random and creepy at times, I like it! :)

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Haha. Loved it, especially the dialog. Great sense of humour!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Got stuck after hid the cat in the atm. love the title screen/name and the game's sense of humor.

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

That face when he has to kill !
I didin't understand everythin, killed maybe a bit too much people, but I liked it :D

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Now, that was fun! Loved the art, too. Funny, the title made me think of Kill La Kill! I was watching it right before I started ludum dare :D Anyway, awesome game!

Zed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Well, as it turns out, I'm a monster. But on the plus side, at least I finished my chores.

Really enjoyed this. Actually ended up having to go on a massive killing spree BEFORE doing anything though, just to save myself the hassle of offing people later on and OH GOD I AM a monster.

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

pretty glitchy but the music and length/content/humor are great

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Interesting game I'm guessing you went with a more psychological approach towards the theme. Good job.

Atlas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Loved everything about it except the well wouldn't take Billy for some reason.

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Super creepy!!

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Damn those gunshots made me jump. Great game! Very dark humour but a great idea. Some improvements to be done on the camera but quite well done overall.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Haha! Quite funny!

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Wow. I really like the concept! It's basically dexter lite :P I must say when the cops take you out it's really quite harrowing. The way you start again from the beginning is a bit annoying but I guess the level is short enough that it's not a completely bad thing.

The mood is very good for something so... Light looking. The little easter eggs of references here and there are very cool too. Love it :)

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

pretty funny :)

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Hilarious!

shs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:05am

That was quite a surreal experience.

Afal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:08am

Not sure if I'm allowed to walk through walls >_> Funny game though :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:12am

Love the style and the humour. Very original!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

Dexter the video game! had some issues with collision for the kill though that was a bit frustrating.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

Neat idea. Quite a funny game. I like the music!

Hob623 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:14am

Hitting the guys you want to kill is suffering.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:33am

it said take out the thrash but when i am near it i dont know how to take it out

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:33am

this game is my life every day

xerohuang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:35am

Interesting game, I am the Monster! :D

kevinAlbs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54am

Interesting!

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58am

That gun shot made me jump XD. Nice music too.

Nic V. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13am

Great use of the theme! Really loved the writing and how eerily upbeat the music was lol.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20am

The cat/ATM thing was an American Psycho reference, I hope! Cool concept, nice tunes throughout. Controls and hit boxes were a little clunky, but workable most of the time.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:37am

First entry I play that plays the psychological interpretation of the theme.

Controls are a bit clunky, but being a murderous psychopath felt so good I'm willing to forget it.

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:59am

Dark and twisted, lack of animations were a bit of a downer but I still liked the overall graphical style. Starting over from the start basically killed it (pun intended) for me.

MidCry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:03am

Good Job ...

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20am

Loving the humor in this! Just the right amount of weirdness.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40am

Very interesting approach. Game controls are simple and the music helps create the mood. Well done!

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:00am

This game is killer! Although it is a bit too easy.

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01pm

That is a weird way to carry a cat around!
Cool game. I like the way the music shifts when you have to kill things.

flavio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Hey ! We had the same idea about the theme ! cool and crazy :)

our game --> "May I help you"

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Fun game, there was some problem with picking stuff up every now and then and the game get too easy if you kill the cops. Pretty well put together game.

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57pm

@flavio: Great minds think alike! I'll check it out when I get home from work.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Neat idea.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:41pm

jekyll and hyde... Disturbingly awesome!

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:57pm

kind if sick kills you have to do, cool intro though. Bugged for me when I killed billy when I should kill the stray cat. Billy dissappeared once I had to kill him.

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Creepy. And the sudden, disturbing shift in music (which is itself very good) helps this. Mechanics were a bit rough but it was most definitely engaging in its own sadistic way.

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

That was pretty intense

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I'm struggling with the controls a little. The game is cool by the way!

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Hahaha so dark! Love the ATM reference :D

HernanZh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Haha it's funny! American Psycho inspired I guess? Great interpretation of the theme!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49pm

The dark humor makes for an interesting twist on stealth games.

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:36am

You need help. 9/10

MithosKuu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:40am

Bonjour! This is Rik from the CORE Games team, posting on Mith's account.

The dark humor was really solid and it was a good take on the theme, the music was fantastic, the transitions were great, and oh man...that graphic design on the title cards...probably my personal favorite part. Way cool.

My complaint is definitely that I seemed to have just been being arbitrarily shot by the police. Both times my game ended was what I assume was me being shot, but it was while doing the normal things. Officer please why. It's just laundry. Why did you kill me.

Great presentation, but a tad bit confusing. But overall, fantastic. Well done.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:47am

Mondays! :)

valid4life says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:16am

Art was great!

BlazeCell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:24am

Love the concept and execution (literally). Pressing space on some objects isn't as responsive as it should be, and the goal arrow doesn't always point to where it should, but the game has a great feel to it. Well done.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:57am

haha thats a nice Game

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:24am

I'm a bit stuck at the start, not sure to know what to do with this trash.
Nice mood and graphics!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:47am

Interesting take on the theme but I found your game too hard and confusing...

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:48am

Really great, awesome concept

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:28am

Awesome everything about this game is just that!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Stange little game, not sure about how it relates to the theme but it's really well put for only 48hrs!

Nezzhil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Great game, the game will better if the viewport is bigger! :)

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:08pm

when I first changed to "Mr. Hide" I killed everyone I could find MWHUAHAHAHAHAHAaaaa!

nice game ;)

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Lovely black humor! I especially liked how it seems that he doesn't want to kill anything, but he just wants to carry out the wills of all those everyday things.

PS: No, YOU'RE a monster! :'(

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Hilarious.. nice fun with the knife..

yokcos700 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Having to start the entire thing upon death (I thought there was no Die D:) is annoying. Other than that and the crummy gunshot sound, all is well. One of the few games I've played that actually has sound, and a more interesting take on the theme than most would dare to do. Also, the music is lovely.

danialhyatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:08am

This is psychotic!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:23am

The art is great and the music fits perfectly.

quickfingers says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:06am

Great humour and mood. Poor kitty tho :'(

Bashosha says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:33am

creepy :S

Garris says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:02am

This seemed pretty buggy, but it was still pretty fun, and I can see what the intent was which helps a lot. Overall, it's a well designed game that just seems to have had some hiccups in execution. If you plan to work on this more, I'd really like to see what it turns into with a bit more development.

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:14am

This is a really disturbing game, i like it. :)

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:24am

I loved it!!!

gmaker says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:31am

im a monster!

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:06am

holy f**k that smile on the murderspree part, not to play around with

local minimum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:26am

Really enjoyable, fantastic art and please extend this some more!

I got hit a little too often by the police, maybe have a slightly larger mini-map. When playing the game you know exactly the police patterns but we don't so it becomes a little too much trial and error since there's very little time to get away when spotting police on the mini-map.

Great game, give me more murder!

atombrot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Cool experience... After I read the description, I went to the cops first after I dropped the trash to see if you can turn yourself in ;)

Bekokstover says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I am a monster!

JokerDen says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I like this sort of humor. Cool.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:08am

love the possible kill la kill reference.

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:19am

Hilarious. Although I couldn't manage to sneak the cat back to the ATM.

jestar_jokin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:41am

Love the crazed grin.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:49am

Very unique game! Had trouble feeding that ATM. Loved the dark sense of humor. Well done.

MaesK says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Fanny game, the garbage told me to kill, so I did. Even the police. But there are too much security in this city to become a killer :D

I like how you cannot control it when suddenly turn into a blood thirsty monster!

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:40pm

The concept is disturbing and funny. If you polished up the issues relating to cop hitboxes during kill mode, that would make it a lot more fun and possible to play. Also, with no checkpoints, it got too annoying to keep retrying when I'd get killed by a cop (where it wasn't really my fault at all.) If those issues were addressed, I could see it being a pretty fun action puzzler.

rujo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:43pm

this is very random :)

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Because carrying a body over the middle of the street is of course not noticed by anybody...

Great job, funniest game I have seen so far.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Dark, yet funny.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:37pm

pretty good game

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Great job! Loved the music and the theme. The only thing that kept me from finishing it was having to start all over from the beginning when I got shot, but I did retry a bunch so it wasn't bad.

Sorry you had a tech issue trying to play my game, I dunno why Unity player would refuse your input but I did see that happen to one guy who tested, he played in Chrome, no dice it ignored all inputs, then he played in FF, was fine, then Chrome again and was fine. Never managed to explain it!

DeathBread says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:21pm

It is very glitchy for me, but the graphics look promising

hanoth says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:40am

Nice game! I just wish it was easier to move around without getting shot by a cop that's off-screen.

Fasox says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:35am

OH MY GOD... im still laughing

Larzan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:26am

Haha, i like it freaky fringy, nice concept Dexter. And only 48h? Well done!

May 4, 2014 @ 7:54am

Ha, this is great! Love the artstyle and the music. And the kill-messages :D

Tanner says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:31am

Pretty nice game!

dsoft20 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:36am

Good game, it's very disturbing D:
The only downside is the camera, it can't let you see where are you going.

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:48am

Nice work.
Not having to go back to the start for every time you are shot from off screen would be great though.
The combo of graphics, music and game for 48 hours work from scratch is pretty great.

The waypoint arrow didn't work for me on the "take the laundry to the laundromat" part.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Hah, this is really awesome in a really creepy way. Nice work!

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:35pm

That was a lot of fun. I started killing innocent people just because way to soon... Wonder what that means...

minibutmany says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Ohh, the saxophone music made this game so funny. Good job, 5 star mood.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Pretty cool game.

MrBlade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Good work! This game is pretty hard and I had a difficult time with certain mechanics. I found the cops a little bit too quick and it would be nice if they could only see things x pixels away as I often had a hard time slipping past them. The camera is a bit weird. Movement feels very good. Sounds and graphics are nice and suit this game well. Very frustrating, but in kind of a good way! Keep it up.

scgrn says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I love it! It's just like real life!

May 5, 2014 @ 12:00am

Nice, I love this sound!

May 5, 2014 @ 2:05am

Disturbingly delightful

jsmars says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:40am

Great entry overall! A bit difficult with no real warning with cops coming, and frustrating to start over from the beginning. Great presentation and impressive in just 48 hours!

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Well this gets all my humor stars

Clavus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:31pm

That was pretty fun. Aren't we all a little serial killer beneath the surface?

Just me? Oh.

conormn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:42pm

That was dark and now I have guilt! I also have that music stuck in my head now :)

Loneshark says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:33am

You must have worked non-stop to make this in 48 hours!

Great job!

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:44am

Art style was cool, and the map was a good design choice, but some more mechanical flavor could have enhanced this game. Some minor collision / tigger issues with the interactions, but otherwise it all worked. well.

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Yeah! Dexter sim. The kill-mode music gives me creeps)

Gap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Hahahaha this was gorgeous :) I want mooaoaaaar!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:01pm

For folks who want more, there will be more! I'm planning on making a full Kill or Kill game with polish, new mechanics, animations, cops that can't kill off screen, and hit detection that isn't garbage.

Check this post out for the main character redesign:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/05/kill-or-kill-starting-re-designs-for-the-full-game/

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Slick game. I enjoyed the dark humour and the overall mood despite me begin a cat lover... Texts are good. Good job.

Candyhandy says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Really clever use of the theme. Suddenly i feel like closing the browser and killing my upstairs neighbour.

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:23am

Crazy game. Quirky controls.

ChuiGum says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:29am

Loved the music, graphics, humor, and game! Great job

andymar says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice one! I still don't think I'm sure what I just saw ;).

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Interesting... very a little glitchy

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Great game!!!
Best game so far :)
Realy liked it!
Full of humor and the mood was great.
I enjoyed :D

Zeta says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Totally brilliant take on the theme! Great job!

May 8, 2014 @ 5:13am

Interesting game...

Norse Games says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:07am

Wow, this game seriously scared the heck outta me, whenever the screen flashed white. Apart from that, it was really good, innovative, nice implementation of the theme, really well done!

mrbungle says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Nice take on the theme, if a little disturbing. Like the graphics, shame there was no animation.

fullmontis says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Controls are a little slippery. The concept is funny but needs a little tweaking IMHO. I love the music and the dark humor!

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Hahaha this is awesome. Great visuals and audio, and very funny. Excellent usage of the theme. One feature that would have been nice is to not have to start over from the beginning after getting caught. Awesome job!

okkolobr says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Ah ah, funny game. No, if you excuse me, my microwave need a cat.

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:06am

Really fun game! The graphics are awesome, especially the deranged facial expression. Somewhat difficult to align yourself with objects to move around, but well worth it to avoid the fuzz. Excellent game!

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:38am

Great idea and implementation. Like the dark humor! This kind of player's immersion is a sign of success ;)

pixelpig says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:50pm

There was a problem with holding the stray cat where he ended up walking backwards, not sure if this was intended or accidental, but it was fun to play and the music was great, as was the incredible art.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:38pm

The walking backwards thing is something I put in for when you're "dragging" the garbage or a dead body. I just didn't end up changing it for the things that didn't make sense due to time restraints.

The full game won't have weird out of place things like that.

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Good game

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Humorous, one of the cooler takes on the theme I've seen. The sound design especially is awesome! The collision less so, but I don't expect brilliant collision detection in games made in 48 hours. My hat is off to you. :)

AlexFili says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Reminds me of Dexter. The camera is a bit too close so it's hard to see where the cops are. Pretty good concept

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Good game! First you have cartoon graphics and then... let's kill people!

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Music, art and gameplay are top notch. Feels so smooth! Gotta love his evil face.

Crowbeak says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I really like this game, but I got caught on the way to the well after the slow and painful process of dragging my laundry to the landromat. :( I didn't want to do the whole thing again. Good game, though.

BigBearScot says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Loved it, everything pretty much gelled together perfectly(the audio, the graphics etc). My only minor issue is that I sometimes wasn't able to interact with elements in the game.

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Holy shit, that was awesome - and by awesome I mean psychotic! Well done!

Meedoc says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Sadly the collisions are a bit buggy, and I couldn't go further than the 2nd kill :(

Anyway, it's still a funny idea!

bvssvni says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Cool game!

Phyllostachys says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:33am

Amusing. I like the transitions between normal and killer. The audio is quite good too.

foodzilla says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:43am

Great, inventive, and a strange amount of fun. :) Very silly and humorous.

madflame991 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:41am

+ good graphics
+ interesting take on the theme
+ creepy and funny

- learning to avoid the cops takes a while
- too short

ocmu says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 4:35am

fun mechanic, controls were floaty but loved the concept

soy_yuma says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Great game! I like the humour and the graphics. It also think it's very innovative. But it wasn't really a challenge.

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:27am

The mood is nice, and the gameplay is clear to understand due to useful tips.

Muu? says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:04am

Great art style, the background music fits perfectly.
A bit glitchy when it comes to pickup stuff and drop it.

May 15, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Funny, but ultimately sacrificed a bit too much of playability to the huge graphics, which made it feel clunky.

I did learn a valuable lesson though: policemen who only look in two directions are bad policemen.

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Whoops, I guess I should have waited for more objectives before going around and killing everyone. :D

Warboys says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:37am

Great art design and comical overloading of game mechanics.

May 18, 2014 @ 7:22am

Great game and really liked the way the dialogue sets the mood. Think this would be worth expanding and would be great to see with animations.

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Great Game in every sense.
I really like the overall concept but the graphics are also very nice.

Melondonut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:25am

the lines were funny. by the way I think it would be better if I can restart at the point I died when I caught.

Muciojad says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Wow I'm impressed of a lot of work what you do in 48h ;) Good idea and funny gameplay, you get me ;D Keep it up!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:31am

That was pretty hilarious! It was a bit awkward to move at times, and the little guide arrow was sometimes a bit wonky, but overall the instructions were clear enough, and the concept was disturbingly funny. Nice job! I wasn't able to beat the whole game but I'll give this game another go when I can.

Mase says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:43am

The music change is amusing.. Also I thought "Feed a cat to the ATM" was a pretty evil but also kind of creative goal.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]