Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Amazing! Beneath The Surface

by nonentheless - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TUTORIAL:
On introduction screen choose "Dive!"
Use your arrows to move the sphere to the hole in the ground on the right side of the screen (near the rectangular trees with berries) and avoid lighest shapes.


My first ever finished (let say so...) game and debut on LD. I'm not a programmer so this was The Sunday of Terror for me. Nonentheless, I'm happy I decided to try this.



The game is simple but believe me, there lies a huge and dark story underneath basic gameplay. What do berries do? Why we cannot just go through the forest? Who is the old man and why he changes color? Well, I wish I knew. Nevertheless I'm sure there's something evil going on and I'm determined to investigate it further after the Ludum Dare finishes.

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#217Graphics3.75
#257Mood3.39
#299Innovation3.44
#421Humor2.63
#472Audio2.89
#495Overall3.24
#545Theme3.28
#668Fun2.89

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43am

I like the eerie graphics.

Good job.

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53am

I liked the mechanic a lot, that noise though - ouch!

pereubu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice concept, wanna play more :D

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59am

I really loved the mechanic and the stylized graphics, the game runs on a neat idea.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Super interesting mechanics here. Would agree that some of the audio is a little ouchy. Might be some subtler ways of doing that. Overall you got a neat game on your hands.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

For me I couldn't find out what I was suppose to do. But overall I still love the look of its and the graphics.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Impressive entry and interesting mechanic with the audio which is great. Love the audio and the design :)

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

This game has a good mood. Nice idea to have sound beneath the surface.
'Trial version', so you're planning to expand on this?

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Really nice visuals. Not so nice gameplay.
Text is sometimes hard to read, and i couldnt find a way to start a game for like 30 seconds :)

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Yeah, I'm familiar with these issues already :) Sound can be ouchy sometimes. Text is hard to read as I was working on HD version of graphics and didn't manage to change it properly for smaller res. Trial version is from Unity I guess, still I'm thinking about making it bigger and nicer, also there's a story I didn't manage to put in :D. Thx for all the opinions!

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

The graphics and idea are pretty neat, though I've gotta agree with the sounds being ouchy. It'd be good to know what direction hits are coming from, though I guess that's part of the challenge.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Fantastic use of sound. I wish there were a different sound for collisions from different directions. On the narrow spaces, it's hard to tell if I am too close to the top or bottom. Fantastic art work.

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

Great art. Level 5 was my downfall.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55am

Cool mechanic and gorgeous presentation. Got to level 4 before I couldn't get any further :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

Really great concept! Besides it's a great game to see if your monitor is properly calibrated XD
Couldnt beat level 5 though... :)

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

I really like the concept of your game, nice work!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Interesting concept (could be a game for blind people). The sounds are a bit disturbing :D

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Love the abstract games like this, and the use of the music is very smart.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55am

Cool art style! Enjoyed the look of the game. Not a big fan of those sounds though.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09am

Like the idea, well put together mechanic that is used pretty well. Like the ending message although I would have liked some answers about the berries and forest. Navigating with sound turns out to be really really hard.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20am

@Kragnir Did you actually beat the game? :D I was aiming to put in the background story of forest, berries and a home village of a hero that needs to be saved, but you know, you dont always get what you want ;)

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Really like the idea and there's great potential in this. But for the love of all that's holy you need to swap those alarm noises out for something more ambient! Good work, hope you keep at it.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Solid entry. I really enjoyed playing it. It's tough but rewarding on later levels.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09pm

@Jeffalisk Dear Sir, on the burried bones of my childhood turtle I swear I will change them after the LD. They were placeholders for test purposes and they brainwashed me and stayed :)

Lrnk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Very clever mechanic! Love the art too (One of the few games I've played so far that have led to me the word 'art' before 'graphics'!). Well done.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

@Lrnk thx :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Excellent use of sound, and I like the art style.

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Like those games where you move the hoop along the wire and try to not get zapped. Except the hoop is a ball and the wire is a light grey cave on a white background and there's no electrocution. Needs more electrocution

Custard Games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:52am

Hey, thanks for trying my game. Sorry about the performance issues. I removed all the particle effects, water effects, clouds etc on the low quality version to get it working on more computers. I was hoping you might be willing to try it again? Thanks!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:34am

I like your graphics, but why the bells? Still enjoyed it.

praporomsk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:07pm

it took some time for me to get what I should do.. good job though!

InfectionTeam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Good REALLY IRRITATING game. I hate you. You are an evil person. Jk... No, really, no jk. Ok.. But I really do hate you.

hadesfury says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:56am

Really great ! I love the title screen and the setting.

Futhermore, the game is really innovating !

Chris Mondok says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Pretty neat idea. The sounds got a little annoying, which is only really a problem since they're the star of the show.

Very cool art style.

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Interesting entry with good use of audio. And the art style is rather nice too. (The cover art vividly reminds me of Kentucky Route Zero, which automatically places it on the upper echelons).

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Pretty!

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:35am

Quite an interesting game concept! Good job! Though it is a bit on the hard side.

It would be nice to see where the ball ended up on the death screen. I gave up after I failed a level ten times because I had no idea how much progress I was making or how close I was to the berries.

nonentheless says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:20am

@Snoother thank you, Kentucky Route Zero is one of the greatest looking games ever and I definitly had it somewhere in the back of my mind. Nevertheless I realize of course how far behind Kentucky my small entry falls :)

@ZYXer thanks for suggestion, you're not the first one with this idea and maybe indeed it's a good way to make a life little easier and give a feeling of progress :)

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Very tense and a very innovative concept. I love the graphic design: all the elements make sense together. And the use of directional audio is very cool. The difficulty of actually playing the game, though, comes from knowing how close you are to an obstacle but not which direction. Perhaps different sound cues could be combined for different directions.

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:53pm

The audio was a bit painful, but the artwork was fantastic. Liked the mood and concept. A bit tricky but nothing wrong with hard games!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]