Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cosmic Layers

by Snowflower - Jam Entry

'Cosmic Layers'

Story:
-----
You have been placed in the cosmic layers simulation to test your ability to spatially navigate an unstable environment under low lighting conditions and collect the 44 designated blue bits for reallocation.

Please proceed to the red sys admin bit if you wish to reboot the time trial simulation for a fresh start if you wish to test your speed at completing the task at hand.

Teleporters are available to expedite travel, and exiting through the bottom on the simulation to teleport is a valid option.

---
Controls: WASD+Mouse+ Spacebar to jump, for navigation, ESC to undo mouse cursor lock in the application, you can click on the screen to lock and hide the cursor again.

If you click and hold the right mouse button you can fps style zoom to get a better look at distant areas before you take the leap or decide to navigate your way there

---
Dev Notes:
This is my first attempt at making a first person world navigation 'freerunning' type game.

Instead of having elevators or vertically moving platforms I limited myself to building an environment with a limited number of frictionless object types that scaled horizontally or had a vertical passage that interlocked closed that you could run over quickly, or fall through intentionally to find the 'blue bit' items.
I gave the player mid-air movement to an extent to make some of the more vertical section more fluid to navigate and give the player some feeling they could course correct and exit some of the layered 'interlocking donut' platform stacks.

I totally blew off most of the 1st day doing pixel art for something else I cancelled before I decided to make this instead, so this is a 'jam' only game.

And lastly,
All feedback is appreciated, thanks for taking time to play it !
You can leave feedback to me directly on twitter at @christinacoffin , or here in the comments section.
Thanks!
-Christina 'Snow Flower' Coffin

---
Hardware Note: This is a graphically intensive game since it uses alot of dynamic lighting+physics for visual cues + particles to create a certain style and mood. Looking at doing a post-jam version and optimizing it a bit more.
---
Platform Release Notes:
Web player version tested on chrome on PC+MAC, most accessible and playable version, may be slightly slower than native version.

If you have an issue or bug, please specify the platform version you tried.

Made a Linux version release, I have no way to test this, please let me know if it works or not. I can look into setting up a linux test machine and make this a future build target for jam games in the future.

---
Known Bugs im looking at:

One of my test PC machines loses mouse input control and the player can longer turn and freelook.

A weird issue with windowed mode on the standalone mac version, so the workaround is the current mac version release is fullscreen mode only

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Graphics(Jam)4.22
#92Overall(Jam)3.70
#100Mood(Jam)3.75
#193Fun(Jam)3.30
#316Innovation(Jam)3.13
#511Theme(Jam)2.86
#572Audio(Jam)2.39
#594Humor(Jam)1.93
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Linux verision please?

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Beautiful looking game!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Looks really nice and well polished. Good job.

Snowflower says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

CrackedP0t: Linux build zipped up here for you, let me know if it works since I cant test it . https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14939389/CosmicLayers_Linux/CosmicLayers_LinuxVersion_0.zip

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

This is an excellent game!
I would say that it would benefit from music.
Definately a candidate for the win, in my opinon.

P.S. Linux works fine, so far as I can tell.

DeathBread says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52am

Wow. Just wow.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Beautiful game. I want it to last longer!

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

You should switch the point lights render mode to important, I had some trouble because they turn off when I moved.

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

asotelo94: thanks, recently upgraded unity version and didnt realize the pointlights were set to auto and caused this behavior for some people.

Updated all the builds with the fix so you shouldnt have any lighting bugs (uses deferred lighting and 4 lights per pixel in the quality settings)

Clavus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

The visuals are quite nice. The gameplay is ok, but it did feel like it was missing some interesting mechanic to use for moving around.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Very beautiful, the graphics are amazing !

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52pm

I really had fun with and probably spent way to long trying to see if I could get to places I wasn't supposed to, lol!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Wow, really cool level design and lighting!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:20pm

love the graphics!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:42am

Wow! Such a nice looking game. Loved all the shifting geometry. Loved the lighting and particle effects. It all contributed to great mood. I didn't initially realize red was a reset orb, which was unfortunate. Also, music of some kind would have been great addition too. Really impressive work. Very much enjoyed this one. Well done!

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:31am

Very nice looking, interesting level. Doesn't seem to fit the theme at all, though...

I had to turn my mouse sensitivity way down to play it. Would be nice to have an in-game setting to adjust that.

elefantopia says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:15am

Incredible graphics! Fun to play and enjoyed the floating effect to get to the more difficult spaces.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]