Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SlippyBlocks

by pht59x - Jam Entry

Here is the toy. It's more like a (half) proof of concept than a fully baked game. The game mechanics is rather unusual (I hope), but there are neither levels nor sound.

At the moment the only challenge is to beat one's ownn previous time. Works fine on a desktop and is OK (but clumsier) on Android.

Anyway, playing with CoffeeScript/JQuery to toy with things was great fun and very practical to try and test many prototypes, out of them SlippyBlocks is a tiny little one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#490Innovation(Jam)2.73
#642Humor(Jam)1.67
#732Mood(Jam)1.65
#740Fun(Jam)1.97
#746Theme(Jam)1.72
#746Overall(Jam)2.16
#758Graphics(Jam)1.79

Comments

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

I applaud the use of JavaScript

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Interesting concept, even if it's more a proof a concept than anything !

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I just moved my mouse anywhere, and win... i guess :-)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

it boggles the mind.
i'm not smart enough.

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Interesting! I have not seen much like this

Catman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice concept, if you can polish it more and add some more mechanics it could be a pretty fun game!

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Little off-theme, but interesting.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Interesting gameplay and input concept. I was surprised that I didn't need to click on anything.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I still don't understand how the blocks move lol

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I didn't really get the mechanics. I it correct that the blocks move randomly when moused over?

solkar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I don't understand what I'm doing. What's the concept you want to proof? I've played 3 times and I don't get it.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

13 seconds! :D

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:31am

Like others have said, I have no idea how to play this game. Might want to add more details in your description.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Hi. Not sure how the game aspect works, but the toy functions! Needs clearer instructions I think or starter levels to be an accessible game.

Chaoseed says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Kinda neat. I commend you for actually finishing something that is playable, at least. ;)

elefantopia says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:08am

Interesting game, but clearer instructions would be helpful. The blocks moved off the arena by mousing over, but other times, more blocks appeared. Was there an order to removing the blocks (ie clear all the red ones)?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]