Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hey, you!!

by crocantidepollo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "Hey, you!!" your goal is to identify and call out a thief inside an underground train.
Observe patiently and pick the correct guy. You only have three chances.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#90Innovation3.92
#179Mood3.53
#207Humor3.10
#231Graphics3.72
#267Overall3.49
#394Audio3.00
#467Fun3.11
#813Theme2.95

Comments

Muffinhat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43am

Really nice idea. Love the art style.

chuchi2k2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19am

Great idea!. Very funny and with many details. Congratulations!

Taffaz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Great art in this one and the sound effects are good too

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Really nice art style and presentation. First I didn't really know what to do, but that got sorted out rather quickly. Interesting concept and unique idea! Even though I couldn't identify the thief a single time =/

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Very cool look, but this game is a bit too hard for me. I watched for minnutes without noticing anything... :)

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Really nice art style and presentation. First I didn't really know what to do, but that got sorted out rather quickly. Interesting concept and unique idea! Even though I couldn't identify the thief a single time =/

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Nice graphics, good mood. But I didn't catch anyone ! T_T

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Wow it's so cool it is amazing what people can do in 48h

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

It was fun, interesting idea. Very cool take on the theme.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I quite like this one! Does the difficulty increase? I notice the wait time got longer but couldn't be sure. Great concept!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Wow! thank you all. I didn't expect such a good reception. It's very hard to test the difficulty with so little time. To me it's super easy now, but obviously I made it. For those of you that didn't catch the thief, pay attention to the sounds and movement! When someone realizes he's been robbed it means the thief was around there. The timer is just there as a score...

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Cool concept and great art, I'm having lots of fun with it, though I fail most times.

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Great idea. It is a really interesting game.

mariscal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Best game I've played so far! The idea is brilliant, I love the way the game is presented, a clear idea. Got the thief after 1:55 and 2 stolen items and wallets. Great work!!

MrBlade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:05pm

I played for quite a long time and only had one item and one wallet get stolen. I didn't notice anything. I think the stealing needs to happen more frequently and be easier to notice. Aside from those small nitpicks, the game is very solid, plays well, has a unique art style, and uses good sound design to make the atmosphere feel hectic like a real train. Good work.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Interesting observation game, loved the art style. Managed to find the dude who did it in one go, but I do agree there has to be something more animation wise as a hint for it.

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

Interesting concept, nice submit!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Learning by observation, cool :) Nice graphic style and ambient sound, great atmosphere!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Very addictive, and I love the unique art! :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Innovative idea! Loved it!

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:19am

Nice idea, really cool!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Innovative as hell! It's simple but super fun and oddly addictive. Great work!

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Nice idea! I couldn't find even a single thief but the idea is great. I also likes the style a lot. Thanks!

magicspark says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Very original game :) Nice mood and fun to play!

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Cool concept and graphics !
Well done ! :)

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Very unique idea! Nice try!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Well made, polished! Something fresh

p1nesap says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice stealth game, great graphics, sound. Might move faster.

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Very solid entry. Congrats! :)

I've realised that I'm not fit to be a detective >_<

MonsieurS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I liked the small details in this, like the variety in the background and the muttering. At my first try nothing happened until like 1.40 minutes in, maybe that needs some tweaking. Anyhow, good idea. :)

May 1, 2014 @ 2:31pm

@MonsieurS Yeah I think sometimes the rng gods can conspire a bit to make a really slow moving thief with a really slow steal rate. I definitely need to tweak the ranges. Good observation!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Very unique and interesting concept. The presentation is nice and the ambient sounds give a good sense of mood. Nice job!

v3games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:06pm

This is one of the most innovative games I have seen so far this jam. Great job.

HernanZh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Really nice concept!

LeReveur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:47pm

YES !!! I CATCH U BLO.. Oups, sorry. :D
Immersive and needs an eagle eye. I liked the art and sounds, too. Well done.

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:57pm

A surprisingly tricky game, but entertaining to get right. There's some unintentional humour to staring at this train carriage filled exclusively with white guys, some in dorky hats.

Maniulo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Such a nice idea for a game set in the undergroud. Also, the train interior is really neat!

May 5, 2014 @ 6:50am

NIce art and sound. Simple mecanic but very well designed.

Bekokstover says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:32am

Too bad there's actually only one guy on the subway, but the game looks and works nice.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:38am

Cool idea! It was really satisfying to locate the thief!
The background and the lights in combination with the sound set the right mood and the sfxr sounds work very well!
I like how the people "blend" together, this makes it a bit harder.

This is one of my favorites so far :)

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great idea. Caught the thief on my first go, but failed the next three tries, so it must have been a fluke!

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:56am

Really Different!
Good game, Good use of theme.
For a game with so little expressive characters is really interesting how it still makes sense to find the thief.
Congrats!

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Very simple but I love the concept!

alvivar says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:09am

Fun and innovative!

I don't have any particular recommendation. I found the thief on my 3rd try!

Snoother says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Yay, I found the thief on first try. As people have said, it's weirdly captivating. Maybe could do with a few devious red herrings, but it's nevertheless quite fun.

May 11, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Hard game, but well made. I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/a1xd0I3_xtY

illugion says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:18am

Really nice and simple, I like that ! It was kinda hard to figure out how to know who robbed who but then I saw that little arm moving, it was great ! Would be incredible if there was more variety or levels to it haha

joe40001 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:27am

Interesting, for me it seemed pretty easy to catch the thief though, just wait for the sound effect to go off at the same time somebody stops moving and then it's that guy.

May 13, 2014 @ 11:53am

@joe40001 Ouch! Yeah mechanical spoilers ahoy! :P That's definitely one trick I must prevent in a future more complete, polished version.

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice concept and cool art. It is hard to figure out things that happen, maybe need more incremental difficulty.

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Good idea ! Maybe more characters diversity will be cool.

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:34am

@crocantidepollo

Dang, sorry I really didn't mean to give anything away or insult in any way, I liked the game/idea but it was just something I noticed in the first 10 seconds or so, so I figured it wasn't a secret.

Very sorry if I spoiled anything, I love LD and the LD community and don't want to mess anything up for anybody. :/

May 14, 2014 @ 9:36am

@joe40001 Hey don't worry about it, after all it's a game made in 2 days, it can't be perfect ;)
When I made it I worried about someone finding a trick like that too soon because I had so little time to tune the difficulty, but so far people didn't seem to notice.
Anyway, as I said that's one of the things I will fix in a future more complete release.
Thank you for playing!
PD: You must have some kind of developer vision superpower to catch that in the first 10 seconds. I'm impressed! ;)

rincewind_cz says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:25am

Couldn't catch him unfortunately.. But I liked the graphics style of this, good job :)

joe40001 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:15am

@crocantidepollo Well I have played/review 300+ LD29 games so perhaps my mind has been warped in some way like that. :P

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:36am

Wow! Really interesting game. I played a few times, but didn't catch the thief. The ppl are a bit hard to distinguish. Great fun though!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]