Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries


by DrMelon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Might still be a bit buggy! Instructions on how to play are inside the game. This is my first LD! Woo!

Things I used:
Codebase: HaxeFlixel
Graphics Programs: Aseprite, GIMP
Sound: SFXR

Downloads and Links




Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

I like the idea

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Great Idea with the seeing eye stuff but very scary.

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

Love the idea. Would be neat to see this concept more fleshed out on a larger scale.

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

The game play idea was really cool, I wish I had a chance to play with it more. I thought it was hilarious though.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Wow that's some creepy Stanley Kubrick stuff right there!

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Eyesplodingly good

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

One of the better interpretations of the theme i think ive seen, also scary so ++mood

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Really cool concept, the Eversion-esque world changes really caught me off-guard. Very nice interpretation of the theme!

My main complaint is that the cooldown on the eye could be a little faster. Trying to avoid going "darker" means standing around waiting a whole lot. Overall, fun idea, well-implemented.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

Damn, that took a different turn than expected, lol, good job. Pretty creepy, but I like the pixel art.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

Creeeeepy. . . is there a good ending?

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

Really neat use of the theme. I like the idea of the one thing that lets you advance in the game is actually bad for you. I like the graphics, too. You could definitely take this further. Nice job!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

Creepy good game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

Totally awesome, I love the turn it takes from overusing the special ability. This really reminds me of a game I've played before but I can't remember the name of it. You run around as this little flower guy and touching certain areas in the game causes it to change and become darker. Either way stuff like this is great. "Bad Ending" was funny XD

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

Very Nice I like the idea and how you made it. (Just not good with german Kebordlayout)

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12am

Still trying to get the good ending. Good job on creeping me out with the using the sight too much part

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

Awesome mechanic, poor implementation.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

Interesting concept, and very creepy mood as a result. The mechanics were pretty simple, and if you want to avoid overusing the vision ability, there is a lot of downtime while you wait for it to cool down. I realize it might be too easy, but maybe something else could balance it.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

One of the best I've seen so far. Good job

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

Excellent game!

Game creeped me out when I overused the eye for the first time, the way you achieved this effect was executed well with the sfx and white screen flash transitioning. After getting the bad ending I was curious enough to play to enough to get to the good ending. Was over joyed at reaching your gold room that had a warm welcoming sign. The achievement at the end of the game was a treat.

Loved it.

x1212 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47am

Realy nice!
The controlls are a little bit difficult if you use a keyboard with qwertz layout ...

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

Pretty nice consent with simple execution

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

This game is very good, the bad that is behind what we see and the way it was executed. BUT it has 2 big problems:
1) There is no music
2) The controls are ugly

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

ooh creepy! nice mechanic though :D

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15am

Congrats on your frist LD

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Great job ! I really enjoy playing your game and I like the idea :)

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I am the new eyeball king! I assume this is a good thing. The sudden mood change was pretty unexpected.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Really cool, I felt bad for turning the old guy into a skeleton from overusing the power though

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00am

Hooray! I'm the new eyeball king! Loved the graphics of the 'bad world', and I liked that I had to use it 'too much' to advance. But my first playthrough, I thought that's all there was (the bad ending)

With some more guidance, and maybe another mechanic to keep it interesting, this could be really cool. I really love your weird aesthetic. Keep it up!

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57am

I agree that the controls need a little bit of work, and cooldown time is too long.

Those things aside, I'm a sucker for creepy things like this, and the ending cracked me up. :)

valid4life says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38am

Great Idea!

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44am

Good idea I thought it was funny. And the ending wasn't that bad. In fact it made me chuckle so I bumped up your humor to 5 stars. haha

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31am

Really nice take on the topic, first time I give 5 stars in this category this LD. I also like the disturbing feeling it produces and the totally mad world that lies beneath the surface of our own.

After 4 tries I actually became the eyeball king \o/

Found a few bugs (you probably know them already, but meh): 1. you can collect the coins multiple times by entering the house for a short while again. 2. The don't doors seem to be linked correctly.

Congrats on your first LD submission!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40am

Funny game :) Could have used more polish, but very enjoyable. Ending was a little abrupt!

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

great idea!

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26am

fun gameplay :)

crneumre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I really liked playing the game,it was weird in a good way.
Controls felt weird mainly because i couldn't press 3 buttons at the same time(Right\Left+ X + Up)
Overall the game is very good,i would love to see more of it in the future.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

i like the idea of this game, creepy! The Eye idea was good.

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

I liked the idea, the cooldown time was too long however ! The game was really nice, the "mad world" idea is just weird and funny at the same time.

technocf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

A good game idea, bit difficult to play.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Got both endings. It was a pretty good mechanic and a good way to determine endings (even if there is barely a story). It could have used more levels though.

superzac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Solid mechanic, fucking terrifying when the house started bleeding. Good job. A few issues but you did well.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42pm

nice idea.. altho i just seemed to keep Z held down all the time without penalty ..good job and nice ending hah :)

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I did not see that coming. You might actually want to remove some of those screenshots so as to not spoil the surprise. I was genuinely surprised and creeped out, good job! Is there more than one ending?

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Really nice entry dude! Love the demoniac mood when you overuse your new 'eyes'. haha

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

It was a bit too short, there was a pit in the second part of the level I couldn't escape, and I would say that the good ending was a bit too easy to get (got it on my first try, but saying the good ending is too easy to get is hypocritical, considering that the good ending in my game is the default one...), but it was a very nice experience.

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05pm

This is truly excellent for a first entry. Strong use of theme, simple, but clean and consistent graphics, and really spooky and engaging, to boot. Well done, Dr Melon. I'd love to see an enhanced version of this with more exploration of the theme and story.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17pm

That was unexpected. Interesting game. Could use a bit more polish though.

suppi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I really enjoyed this one. caught me off guard. got crown as the eye king :D definitely a good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I thought that the lack of music and a background took away from the game, so did the poorly drawn faces. However, I think its a good idea and you should polish it up, it has potential.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Great idea: you have special power but it comes at a cost, not only to you, but also the whole world!!! Multiple endings! Great job!

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

oh no i'm ded :< for real I didn't see that coming. Great work :D

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Got the bad ending. As someone else said, it has some kubrick-ish qualities. Kubrick meets fez?

psychonull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Loved the concept and some details. It's short but smooth

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

nice idea with the environment changing when you overuse the ability to enable platforms but is there any other consequence

danidre14 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am


joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

Clever and fun. I'd be interested to see what kind of games you make given a longer amount of time, as is it is quite promising.

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27am

Man, I thought this was going to suck until I overdid it! I'm a sucker for glitch:) Very cool:)

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25am

Interest idea with X.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice! i wasn't expecting a roller coaster ride.

sorceress says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Lovely feeling to this game. Very memorable. :) I achieved both endings.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:39am

Its a great idea and a nice interpretations of the theme. My only 2 complaints are the cooldown time and the controls that feel a bit unintuitive (I can't jump while walking and using the vision power at the same time, maybe it's my keyboard)

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:40am

HOLY SHITBALLS that got creepy fast. Loved it!

Sodaware says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:16am

It took me a few tries to figure it out, but I finally got the good ending (which is still pretty weird). Have to say I wasn't expecting what happened after holding down X for too long. Good job!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:21am

"what did you do to me?" best part ever

conormn says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Whoa, love the concept. Really great job!!!

May 4, 2014 @ 6:56pm

i loved the mechanics

May 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Short but cool game. I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :)

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:54am

Fun little game idea. I wish it was a bit longer, but it was still fun!

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:18am

Um. Well then.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]