Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Iceberg Hero

by wschorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YOU ARE AN ICEBERG. COOL HUH?
Hold 'c' for controls.

PRO TIPS:
-Large icebergs don't exactly turn on a dime HOLD DOWN THOSE ARROWS and boost to build up speed in one direction.
-Each conquest makes you stronger and faster!
-Small ships increase your lifespan, by a few degrees.
-Big ships have the highest tonnage by far, but they tend to hang out father south, where you'll melt faster.


FAQ:
-Why can't I move at first?
You're just slow and incredibly large! Think like an iceberg.

-Does sinking ships actually increase your size?
No, in fact it makes you smaller. Like a real iceberg!

-What are those brown things?
Rock. DON'T HIT ROCKS.

-What if I only make a ship avoid me and run into some rocks instead?
You still get points!

-Is it possible to grow back to a large size after shrinking to a smaller one?
Of course not! That would be ridiculous. This is an iceberg SIMULATOR so you only get smaller.
You just gotta get in there and wreck ships as fast as you can!

-Is there a secret bonus music track you unlock at ONE MILLION POINTS?
What!?!?!? Uh yeah there is.

Tweet your high score to @what_whit . Current winner: hashtag_smith with 550,000.

Tools: Unity3d, bfxr, Ableton Live 9

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#159Humor3.28
#193Innovation3.63
#281Fun3.38
#381Audio3.03
#381Overall3.35
#406Mood3.16
#450Theme3.38
#972Graphics2.52

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53am

This is great! Crashing into things is fun, and the aesthetic is nice too.

Good Work!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Nice smooth gameplay. Well done. :)

May 3, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Nice and silly fun! Good work!

May 4, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Controls take a little getting used to, especially once the iceberg gets quite small. I liked the tradeoff between ship size and melting speed. However, I couldn't really tell how much the small ships were increasing my lifespan so it seemed to make the most sense to beeline south.

Mago says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:53am

This was pretty fun, nice work

May 5, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I love crushing things!

Chaoseed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Pretty amusing idea for a game! I got the basic idea, but I feel like I might have missed one or two subtleties. Does sinking ships actually increase your size? Is it possible to grow back to a large size after shrinking to a smaller one? On another note (haha), I thought the music was a great fit and helped set the mood you were going for. Good work!

elfeck says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Quite a fun game! I didnt really understand how and why I got smaller until I read the description above.

5T4MP5 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:05pm

The slowly increasing speed of the iceberg works nicely against the time pressure to score as much as possible before you melt. The momentum of the game picks up nicely. Well done.

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:10pm

That was great! I liked your movement system a ton!

Gap says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:02pm

This game was great fun :) I did really enjoy the concept and the 8-bit audio!
Good work

~Gap

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Hahaha! Very interesting take on the theme! I liked the minimalitic graphics and the music. Controls require practice but they work ok too. Good job.

biscuitdough says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:07am

Had much more fun with this than I was expecting!

tastyoishi says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Good work :) Much more realistic than mine! I like the melting idea and the much more realistic physics :)

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:09am

Clever game. I wasn't paying attention to the temperature and I slowly melted!

loxo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:33am

Great idea! The movement in the game feels very realistic in the beginning. But at the end the iceberg is too fast I think, so it's nearly uncontrollable.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:36am

Best sentient aggressive iceberg simulator I've ever played

aeveis says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:00am

fun! controls were a bit difficult, especially when I got really small, but sinking the ships were pretty satisfying.

avalonknight says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:38am

It's fun! Got a good handle on the controls and the physics, and the graphics are simple and communicated what's what very nicely.

Pixlexia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:52am

yeahhhhffuuuu

Teejay5 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I've always wanted to be an iceberg. Thank you for this experience.

May 19, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I'd love to try and play this, but I can't seem to get the Unity player to load for your game. :-(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]