Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface 60 seconds dash

by NuvlearGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare ever only started on Saturday and I am a terrible artist but ill be back in the next one being more prepared.


TO get the files in an easier way go to: https://sites.google.com/site/nuvleargames/home-1/downloads?pli=1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#441Humor2.59
#1019Fun2.44
#1184Mood1.90
#1214Innovation1.96
#1247Overall2.08
#1248Graphics1.60
#1251Theme1.64
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Nition says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:12am

There's virus code at the bottom of the web .htm file for this. Looks like the RAMNIT.a virus. Uploader is likely not aware that he has it, but I'd recommend against running the web version.

Nition says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:35am

Actually, RAMNIT.a can apparently affect .exe files as well, so I'm not sure any of this is safe.

pythong says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:12am

you can learn to make pixel graphics, it's quite simple and quick (and looks better than your terrible drawings)

NuvlearGames says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Yes I know the graphics are the worst I have ever seen I will implement a 4 month plan in to improve my art abilities before the next LD. And I dont recommend you play the game because it probably has viruses but I just wanted to be a part of this as it is awesome so in other words next time I wont be doing the compo and I will actually start on time but here is a video to see the gameplay(more like really bad 2d speed runner physics) :) I will return with a better plan and better art and a safe game.
http://youtu.be/dPAzrUZwcVE

Nition says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:21am

NuvlearGames, try to get the virus off your computer first. Unfortunately it sounds like since that one infects files and spreads, a reinstall of Windows might be the only real solution.

There's nothing wrong with making bad games - that's how you learn. And Ludum Dare is more about learning and having fun than about winning. :)

Bekokstover says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Web link doesn't work. Could you change it to a link to the proper html file? More people will play it!

NuvlearGames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Ok the web version should be working now it is hosted on gamejolt.com

Nition says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:11am

That also means my earlier comment re the web file can now be ignored.

grayhaze says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Failed to load on GameJolt too. :(

garygreen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:14pm

You know what, I just had great fun rolling and bouncing and zooming along on my head and your game made me smile. :-)

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:16pm

ho ho spinny little guy

Cash says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:35pm

For some strange reasons I'm atracted by this game. It may have really bad graphics but it's fun to roll and bounce

cr2crstudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Scored 25500 (I think that's the right amount of zeros. . . :) ) Good job!

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I feel like there was some issues with the hitboxes, but other than that the gameplay works great!

Afal says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:12pm

this game is incredibly silly especially when seeing your character 360ing all the way down the corridor

Masadow says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:10pm

I laughed playing it !

NuvlearGames says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I am being to realize that I maybe was overcritical of my game thanks for playing it guys and I am glad that I made you have fun while playing it

May 17, 2014 @ 7:04am

I laughed really hard while making the character fly and roll in the corridor, AT THE SPEED OF SOUND!!!

Not the best game that I rated, but it's sure one of the funniest! =D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]