Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeons and Bombs

by visard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

================== Dungeons and Bombs ==================

You're in a dungeon deep under the earth ...
The only hope is a portal leading out of here.
Explore and find a way to it!
Use your bombs and collect some treasures.


Movement: cursor keys - left, right, up, down or w-a-s-d keys

Place a bomb: space key

Turn sound off: o key
Turn movement sound off: i key

Display help information: h key

Exit game: escape key


I used C++ and Allegro 5 (v5.1.7).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Knowledge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I'm sorry but this game doesn't work on my computer.

visard says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Thank you for your comment!

I uploaded a new version, I missed some needed dll's.

When you like, please try again. Thanks.

JoshOS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:18am

I heavily question the legality of including the Arial.ttf font file.

As for gameplay, nice and simplistic. I found the sprite for 'treasure' to be a bit misleading, as it looks like fire.

Overall good effort, not bad considering the time restraints!

Perhaps a few things to add in the future if you're doing a Post-compo version is enemies, alternate scoring methods (killing enemies, finding the portal quickly), powerups (portal locator, larger view-area, bigger bombs, bomb-deflecting shield etc) and that kind of stuff?

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:20am

I liked the fast explosion keeping you on your toes though I could do with some sort of enemy or something working against the player. Good job.

Knowledge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25pm

It's super but why you didn't put some enemies?

visard says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Thanks for playing the game and your comments.

I have changed the font.


I had some of your suggestions on my plan, but the ld48-time runs out.
That's also the reason for the missing enemies.

Maybe I will make a post-combo version with some of the stuff you all mentioned.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:31am

Looks a bit empty. I'd create smaller levels if there's no enemies at all. Also - as sb told before - 'treasure' sprite really do like like a fire.

Nevertheless it looks nice, and it's great that I don't have time to rest after setting a bomb (:

BoneDaddy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I escaped the dungeon! But it just portaled me to another one. Damn portal... Did that a few more times, but I quit after a while. The controls are tiring to the hands. The bomb's fuse is so short and the game doesn't seem to have a timer for how often you can make moves, so it basically comes down to pressing buttons as fast as possible, which is tiring. The game is like an adventurous bomberman, which is pretty cool. Needs a bit more variety though, some level design could help instead of what appears to be randomly generated levels.

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nice little game, and I also saw the treasure as fire at first :-)
Indeed good base for a dungeon crawler with enemies and stuff.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]