Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Honey Bundles

by foolmoron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS:
-MOVE the mouse to the top and bottom of the screen to move the bee
-Right click to OPEN and CLOSE the background
-CLICK AND DRAG the blocks to move them

PLAY ONLINE HERE: http://foolmoron.itch.io/honeybundles
Unity build file here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zhpq1u55d6wrzuh/honeybundles.unity3d

Created with:
Unity
GIMP 2.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#168Innovation3.68
#540Fun3.03
#572Graphics3.15
#699Humor2.24
#745Overall2.98
#990Mood2.47
#1007Audio1.60
#1040Theme2.51

Comments

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I couldn't move the bee for some reason.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:25pm

This is a great Game! I like it really. Simple and funny.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Wow took me a while to figure it out, but once i did, it was fun to play!

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Took me a while to figure out what you're supposed to do! protip: move the objects when it's open!

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Interesting concept, kind of difficult to grasp how to do things, perhaps a tutorial of some sort would be nice?

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

The gameplay is not very intuitive but it is not bad!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

What an original idea! I loved the trippy visuals and the frantic start / stop of the gameplay. Good job. :)

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I thought that was a really original idea, simple to get to grips with and fun too.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Controls seemed tough, couldn't quite get what was going on.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:22am

Neat idea, though the response lag makes dodging the obstacles unnecessarily difficult.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Nice and simple game! And with a cute bee! Protip: you can move your bee in object manipulation mode.

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Awesome concept, great graphics and nice controls! If it had sound the immersion would be a lot better, though, and a small tutorial would be interesting, just to get the objective and the mechanics. Great job!

MonsieurS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:57pm

After getting the idea (i.e. right-clicking once) this was quite easy, or maybe I just didn't go for maximum risk. I would have loved to have some obstacles you cannot overcome by pausing. And does the bar and the dots below it have any effect on the gameplay?

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Fun to play. Good job !

loxo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:43pm

I like the unique idea, but it took me some time to understand how the game works.

Blokatt says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I really liked this!

Hempuli says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:11pm

It took me a bit to understand how to move the bee, but once I understood the way to play, it was fun to play. I liked the way the covers moved away to let you rotate/move the platforms.

mattpattie says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:32pm

took me a while to get used to the controls but once i worked them out i thought it was a good concept

elefantopia says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:47am

Cute, fun game! Took a bit to figure out how to avoid getting electrocuted (and also the purpose), but addictive when I got used to the controls.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Overall this is a cool idea and an excellent execution of the theme. I do think the mouse was overloaded a bit as an input. Perhaps the keyboard keys would have been a better control for moving the bee. Regardless, this was a nice entry with a good fast pace.

May 18, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Very challenging!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]