Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarine of semi-Destiny

by iMer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Soo, This was my first time participating and working with javascript/phaser aaand.. well I kinda ran out of time
I can't call this finished, buuut there is a boss (tip: it's below and slightly to the right of the upgrade ship)

It also doesn't seem to work on IE

Controlls:
arrow keys for movement
spacebar to fire your rockets

Tools used:
Framework: Phaser (http://phaser.io)
IDE: Webstorm
Art: Paint.net, Photoshop (for transitions cause I was lazy)

Known bugs:
The boss wanders off - it may even walk out of the level if you give it enough time, it even enjoys to go for a fly from time to time.
Generally mob ai is.. really simple
Monster health bars are slightly glitchy


..the great jellyfish watches all..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#292Fun3.37
#293Theme3.57
#431Humor2.61
#457Mood3.10
#459Overall3.27
#482Graphics3.27
#617Audio2.65
#797Innovation2.73
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

I love those torpedoes! I thought it was quite beautiful, and itès very satisfying to shoot those sea creatures!

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55am

Good game! Fun combat but its nothing new. Slightly annoyed on how you see how many coins you have. Would of liked a number instead. Great overall! Good job!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:18am

Pretty fun. Loved the shooting combat, but aiming was a tad difficult.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Not a bad game, unbalanced but what can you do with 48 hours haha.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

The action was great. Could have done with some music and a victory condition, maybe more baddies.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

That boss is ridiculous! Nice job!

pixelpun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Liked it, a lot of fun :)

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Nice and simple game, well done :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31am

I didn't find the boss, and I found very few enemies... Jelly fish kept spawning on my player in the first minute, but after that, all I had was an empty ocean...

I like how the torpedoes fall back into the water when they fly above the surface...

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I liked the game
The jellyfish mob which is coming at you when you attack the boss is quite impressive!
But this stupid boss was sometimes going out of the screen!

psychonull says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Very polished. I liked the upgrades and the controls. Sometimes it felt easy, and in the black background got disoriented, but this game kept me playing a good time!

Waterman7 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:52pm

The boss was a bit too easy for my taste, but fun nevertheless. Congrats on finishing your first entry! :)

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Quite nice pixel art, the gameplay is ok and it's great that there are upgrades!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]