Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gems of the Deep

by FyberOptic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare! I worked on it right to the timer, but unfortunately there's still things it needs!

Your objective is to basically collect as many gems as possible while avoiding the bats. The cave system is dynamically generated every time you start.

Controls are simple. A and D to walk, space to jump and jetpack, mouse click to shoot.

There's still some debug keys added. Press backspace for visual debug mode, + and - on the keypad to zoom, N for no-clipping, and hold TAB for earthquakes (unfinished feature).

This was written in Java, and uses the LWJGL and Slick-Util libraries. SFXR was used for making the audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#432Theme3.40
#496Graphics3.25
#532Overall3.20
#587Fun2.98
#659Audio2.57
#836Mood2.67
#849Humor2.00
#962Innovation2.52

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

Great job with the multi-level parallax, works wonders for underground locales.

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Great tuning on the jetpack!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Hey, we nearly made the same game. The zoom really helped with finding the gems.

valgriz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Your game came out very nice!
I like the generated world as well as the dynamic background.

deadarius says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33am

The best I have seen so far, well done:)

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

Good job on the procedural generation and the multilevel parallax. Also Loved your artwork. Just missed the challenges.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Very nice graphics and sound! The controls were perfect too!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice and fun little game, with a goal and more enemies, it would be more interesting in the end.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34am

Great work. That jet pack was a god send!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57am

Good! What else can I say

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18am

Hah, my game was very much like this in the begining! I realy DIG it...heph heph heph, really nice though seriously really like the paralax, I wasnt able to get it into mine :)

Pheonise says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

Really neat game! Visuals were consistent, audio matched well, and the parallax really made for an interesting scene.
Good job!

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

Great game and nice audio-visual Feeling..Smooth controls. I wish there was some form of levelling up/refuelling stations/upgrades/more enemies/treasures etc :)

angelk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11am

Parallax looks great, and I really love that the bullets can destroy parts of the level. Seems like the random level generation works well. I did notice there was no game over condition when I got swarmed by bats :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

It took me some time to figure that I have jetpack. Pity that it's unfinished and lacking some objective. Next time.. ;-)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Very awesome for a first Ludum Dare!
The parallax works brilliantly to avoid feeling claustrophobic.

CodeHat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36am

Nice game with great gameplay.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28am

This game is neat, really cool looking parallax effect. The cave generation seemed to work really well and I liked the extra zoom feature.

It would have been nice if you could have added more enemies, guns, etc, but it's understandable with the time frame given that the content is pretty limited. Also when I ran out of hearts I didn't die. I'm not sure if that's a glitch or it just wasn't implemented.

All the same, fantastic effort for your first LD! Well done!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Great job ! Gameplay is awesome :)

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice job!

The bad things:
- The bats were a little hard to shoot
- There wasn't much progression (it would be better if there was some objective i.e. Escape the caves with as many gems as possible, or something like that).
- Walking was a little slow

The good:
- JETPACKS ARE AWESOME
- DESTRUCTIBLE TERRAIN IS AWESOME
- It was pretty polished
- The parallax was cool

I had a lot of fun with this one. Kudos to you, especially since this is your first LD :)

Griz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Pretty funny if you play it with a mouse macro on. Great job for your first entry!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The parallax was really nice, and the controls were pretty slick. Nice work! Solid game.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Nifty little game, and who doesn't love jetpacks? Good base for something, worth keeping at to see where it goes!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Great little game, quite simple, but the aesthetic really makes it stand out. The parallax effect is wonderful, good work!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56am

That screenshot looks so good, but unfortunately I cannot play it. It won't work on my PC (Windows 7). Nothing happens when I click run... :(

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

@BoneDaddy It could mean that you don't have Java installed on your system. Even the EXE version of the game will need it. I hope that's all it is, at least!


And I really appreciate everyone's positive and constructive comments! It's definitely made my first LD experience feel worthwhile.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

Nice work I love it :)

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13am

Love shooting enemies while using jet pack great game could have had a bit more story

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

the game does not start on my imac (osx 10.6.8)

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Really like the style you have for this. The parallaxing is great! Also works great on my mac OS 10.9.2. Thanks for making :)

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54pm

It's so simple, but i love it! Jetpack is amazing here!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

nice jetpack and parallax..good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Awesome bro! Really liked the jet pack, none of this limited fuel business! Visuals are stunning too. Perhaps missing a little more depth in gameplay, but you done a terrific job in the time.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Parallax scrolling!!! Yeah! Really impressive work for 48 hrs, it's so fun to just wander with the jetpack and destroy all the tiles. Would be better with some kind of objective or real difficulty!

anbreizh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Nice little game, too bad it's unfinished (no goal, no way to die)

Nanolotl says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:42am

Really liked the destructible terrain and the parallax background.
Bats seemed to stop showing up after a while though.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice game, I especially liked the depth of the cave and the destructible tiles!

May 4, 2014 @ 6:35pm

amazing mechanics!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:20pm

The bats flying through rock that I can't shoot through is really unfair.

thaaks says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I liked the parallax scrolling and the player, rock and bat graphics.
The controls are not intuitive, WASD would have been easier for me.
I think the level is too big and I didn't know if there is another one, where to find all the gems and how many are remaining to collect.
The jetpack was fun and I think if you finetune the game a bit it will be a lot of fun!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]