Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Home

by Brenden Gibbons - Jam Entry

Home is a twine game. (NOTE: Internet Explorer doesn't seem to play the video for some reason. Chrome works fine.)

If you like or didn't like it, feel free to tell me why @BrendenGibbons

What would be super appreciated is if you'd tell me what you felt at the end, it lets me understand the impact of my work better! :) Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Theme(Jam)3.88
#101Mood(Jam)3.74
#228Overall(Jam)3.43
#299Innovation(Jam)3.17
#414Fun(Jam)2.93
#471Humor(Jam)2.32
#551Graphics(Jam)2.88
#569Audio(Jam)2.42
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Not bad, I do like the background art and the adventure is very well storied!

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

I love it. The multiple choice story is really nicely done. Good job.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

An excellent take on the theme. Worth a play / read.

There are a handful of typos ("it's" in a few places that ought to be "its").

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

One of the more interesting twine games I've seen, kept me hooked til the end. Great job!

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Excellent story and creative wordplay. Well done.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I like the story, you are very imaginative ! The background are really lovely and fit perfectly with the way the story goes

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Well-written and inventive. The multimedia fits well too.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:48pm

nice story, totally different from every other interpretation of the theme!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Very creative story, its a good interactive novel.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:21am

Hey man.

Good job, working with Twine.
Like that you've done a lot of with the styling, and I must say that your extensive lore about animals is fun to read.

May 10, 2014 @ 1:26am

Really interesting work with the layers, best text-based game I have ever played. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

Masadow says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I really like how you turned the genre. Clicking on text parts rather than choices is pretty interesting.

Some sounds would have been really cool to enhance the story

goerp says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Although this is technically a text adventure, I really like the graphics.
The mood was suberb, it really took me on a journey.
The video was not really for me. I found it didn't fit the mood. I think because your excellent texts made images in my mind that didn't go with the video.

For a Ludum Dare it needed some more interaction to be called a game. It's more of a linear story now. But I'm still glad I played it!

Daveloper says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Well written, painted an interesting environment.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]