Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Core Fighter - IcyLava - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are WAY below the surface of earth, in the outer core.
WSAD to move, mouse to look and left mouse button to shoot freeze bombs. Touch enemy freeze bombs to turn them into your bombs. Keep your temperature high or you'll be crushed!
Keyboard keys are rebindable, Java JRE required.
Made using my engine - IcyEngine2d https://github.com/IcyLava/IcyEngine2D

View IcyLava's journal. | View all entries by IcyLava

Ratings

#440Fun3.14
#447Overall3.29
#544Audio2.80
#693Graphics2.95
#748Mood2.78
#810Innovation2.71
#1036Theme2.52
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12am

Tried it out! Got to 208 without actually using the mouse because... Well, I'm on a laptop and it doesn't play nicely with trying to use both the mouse and keyboard at the same time...

I sort of just went 'Dolphin' on it and bounced a bomb off my nose for a few moments before strafing to let it hit the people behind me.

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

It was funny to play around and find out how to maneuver best, so the enemies will be near your bombs, but the gameplay got very dull after a while.
The supplied options are not bad. A volume slider is always good (didn't have time to include one in my game).

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

I can't start the game. Seems like LWJGL can't find the natives. Stacktrace: http://pastebin.com/XZb8wTFm

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Thanks for the feedback! @uprightpath, @atombrot, yeah the the enemies are a bit stupid, should have implemented a better AI so they would actually move around and surround the player (and I still had time for that), I was just being lazy :P
@Flam, seems like the problem is with paulscode sound system, it wants to load natives from the mac folder which doesn't exist (mac natives are in the macosx folder)... it should be an easy fix.

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Updated, just renamed the "macosx" folder to "mac". If you still have it downloaded you can do the same.

bucketh3ad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Background gave me a headache after a while, but the gameplay itself was fun.

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Nice game, could do with sounds

alhvi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37am

Thank you for trying our game. Now I came to try yours. It's nice :D. I really liked the explosions. It's really cool that you made your own engine. Congratulations. :D

IcyLava says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Thanks :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Nice game and engine you got there! It worked like a charm. Action from start to end, which I like. And thanks for trying my game! =)

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Oh wow, very difficult but really interesting. The 'backwards shooter' thing is new to me. The delay on bombs exploding really gives it a totally different feel than I expected!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:51am

Graphics didn't really work for me.
But fun game overall!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I like it! Sounds, graphics and audio are all really good. I got up to 221, but could not go higher as passed a certain score, there is just too much blue bombs to allow for health regen :S Still an awesome game though, congrats!

IcyLava says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:32am

Thank you everyone :)

IcyLava says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I've updated the game's particle system. It used to generate lots of VBO buffers which slowed it down and it also was just unoptimized. Now it's quite a bit faster, although I can't imagine anyone had problems with that, because even my old computer handled the old version well enough.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:52am

I was instantly drawn into this game by the controls - very tight and a lot of fun - good job

IcyLava says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Thanks :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]