Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hide-n-Stab

by bendmorris - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hide-n-Stab is an online, multiplayer stealth action game. You can play in your browser at http://54.244.244.60/ (Flash plugin required.)

There are many cloaked figures that appear identical, but they differ beneath the surface - some are other players like yourself, while others are only harmless bundles of clothes. Your goal is to kill other players without being killed yourself. You can only kill someone by stabbing them from behind.

Whenever you attack, your eyes will glow and your knife will be visible, revealing you to other players as a human for a short time, so be careful and stay hidden until the time is right to strike.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#86Fun3.75
#137Innovation3.75
#173Humor3.22
#270Overall3.48
#324Theme3.53
#483Mood3.06
#511Graphics3.23
#665Audio2.56

Comments

bendmorris says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Hide-n-Stab was made using the Haxe programming language and OpenFL with the HaxePunk game engine. Graphics were done using Inkscape and Spine for animation. Whew! I need a nap, but I'll post more of a technical writeup later :)

Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

This was a lot of fun to play! Its awesome to be hiding and then BOOM pop out of hiding and nailing someone in the back. :D

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

That's a great idea, and it was pretty fun to play. But the movement is very glitchy/laggy! Curious what happens if there are no other humans online.

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

I ran around stabbing everyone but couldn't find any real people. It would be nice to indicate the number of people online.

bendmorris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Thanks everyone. At the moment, if there are no other players, there's not much to do - if you don't see any, see if you can draft a friend into playing with you to get the full experience. I'd wanted to add some bots for when no players are online, but that's something I couldn't get to in 48 hours. I'm also going to work on mitigating the lag. It plays pretty smoothly on my desktop, but my laptop seems to stutter a bit more.

Infinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

If the movement wasn't so buggy this would easily be 5/5 for everything. It's so awesome, but the movement is to buggy to play ;/

bendmorris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49am

I made a small bug fix and the lag is now greatly reduced on my laptop (which has a really terrible network card) so hopefully people will have fewer problems from now on.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Really cool idea. I wish there were more people to play against, since it's hard to get a feel for the game when playing alone. I like how everyone plays in the same room. Is there a player limit? I wonder what would happen if a lot of players joined at once.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:21am

Pretty cool. Reminds me of Spy Party or Assassin's Creed. Good job!

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22am

Awesome! You ought to put this up on a server with some more bandwidth; there's a bit of lag.

Player animation is good. Concept isn't new really, but I haven't seen it done on a large scale multiplayer capacity like this before!

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23am

Awesome! You ought to put this up on a server with some more bandwidth; there's a bit of lag. Still quite fun, and there seem to be a lot of people playing; congrats!

Player animation is good. Concept isn't new really, but I haven't seen it done on a large scale multiplayer capacity like this before!

Loneshark says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:25am

I was killed twice and then all the NPC sprites seemed to stop moving (or they were walking in place at the edges).

bitserum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:25am

Nice idea and interpretation of the theme!

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:29am

I really liked the animation of the characters, especially when they fell apart. I hit a few bugs with movement, and also it seemed that none of the guys I stabbed were real! Glad this is the direction you went for the theme.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38am

Hm, no real people to stab...

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Great concept, too bad it's hard to find someone who plays at the same time as you. I guess that's the problem when you do multiplayer for a Ludum Dare... Still, fits perfectly the theme, very original.

shs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:08am

Imagine my surprise when a figure I thought was an AI turned around and stabbed me.

kato says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:23pm

fantastic

x1212 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:23pm

funny idea!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Pretty fun! I was killed twice :< Controls are a bit hard.

ryangatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:29am

That was a little multiplayer game. Good job!

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:30am

Very good, remembers me of Assassin's Creed.
It's rare to see a multiplayer game in LD and even rarer to see a good one.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:09pm

super idea! well done (- : had fun!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Gave it another try when I saw it on Hacker News... congratulations on 70+ simultaneous players! Unfortunately, the controls weren't working for me this time, I just stuttered in place.

GFM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Nice use of the theme.
It was actually quite fun, trying to back stab other players. =D

player77 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:20pm

This is fun, please fix the bugs so I can play more.

player77 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:36pm

I would vote if I could but "Voting is only available to participants.".

Please will you explain how to build it and its requirements on github?

Penguincat says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Really fun concept! The AI does a great job of acting suspicious. High score: 14, but I might come back for more later :)

player77 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Frozen on spawn, "80 players online", please restart server at least.

aelita1992 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:19am

A pity, there are no players online. Still a good idea, hope you'll develop the game and bring some more people to the game in the future, so the server will be more alive.

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I couldn't connect and guess I came to this too late for players anyway, but I just wanted to say I love the concept and the visuals are nice :)

nka says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Very cool pvp game! Played about an hour with 10 people online and had lots of funny moments. Kudos for using haxe as well!

May 19, 2014 @ 3:38am

This was a really cool game. I enjoyed the hide and seek aspect. Using bots was a good idea since you can't guarantee the number of people online. Cool idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]