Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bornard

by TomBoogaart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

rather short surreal thing

controls are explained in game/readme

i used:

game maker 8
bosca ceoil
audacity
sfxr
balabolka

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
Mood4.55
#28Overall4.05
#36Graphics4.34
#87Audio3.68
#150Fun3.59
#248Innovation3.52
#260Humor2.96
#676Theme3.13

Comments

Norse Games says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:00pm

....
What?

I had no idea what was going on half the time, and it was great.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Also, great graphic style.

marolania says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I dig it, dude.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

I love the graphics!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

What? I mean... WHAT? This could easily give nightmares! Awesome work, really weird and cool. :)

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

Awesome graphics! Weird, cool, and awesome!

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

Quite nice game! I like the graphics, but I wish the controls were a bit easier to reach (e. g. WASD + Q + E)

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

This game was AMAZING! reminded me of Out of this World, pretty good atmosphere and art.

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

argh, forgot to put stars ><

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

Aww this looks like Another World meets Limbo and some puzzling.

Impressed as hell!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55am

Probably the weirdest game I've played so far. Looked good and had a good atmosphere, but I also can't claim to have fully understood what I just played, and the gameplay was rather simplistic. Most of it was pressing buttons and riding things. Still, enjoyably odd.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

OMG I love Boogaard's games so much!

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

Love it! You should continue working on it. I'd pay monies for a longer version.

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Great game! my favorite so far.

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Wow, I really enjoyed that. Like you say, it was a weird little thing but the atmosphere was terrific.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

One of the best looking games I've seen on here so far! GREAT art style! Good job!

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Let's get drunk and shoot people in the face.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Why did 9/11 plane hit a space elevator? Is this a metaphor? When we're trying to go up something happens to bring us down? Or that you shouldn't drink before taking the space elevator? Maybe that you invaded the space elevator country, killed so many of them and then they decided to take you down even if it meant destroying their structures? So many questions.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Favourite game so far!
The game crashed (I think) when the plane came in. Loved it

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Awesome. Just awesome.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Absolutely mega-fantastic graphics feel. Love the arm when pointing and the character in general.

The connection to the theme felt a bit vague, besides taking the elevator down...

I would have liked something more than the game just closing after the head-on-smack-thing too.

But for a 48h thing this is really impressive. And a really solid style that would do great with some branching story and just more of everything.

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

A little bit raw. But I'm still speechless. So deep atmosphere...also tells a lot even without words.

Incredibly awesome!

And yeah, indeed it's a bit like Another World.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Loved the freaking graphics

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

A nice little adventure game you have there. It was a little short, but a nice game overall.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Pretty damn impressed by this, really nice job. Looks well polished, art style looks really good, and it feels like one of those classic adventure games. Really nice job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great game. Amazing that you got so much in! The sound and art were good, and worked to create a really nice feel. Nice choice of scenes, too.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Fantastic. Tone, style, graphics, audio. Superb. One of the best entries I have seen, not just this year, but for the last four. Great work. Very much enjoyed this.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Whaha that ending had me. Mood is intriguing as always!

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Super weird. I liked it though, there's that "something" in the art direction that made it compelling to play.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I really dig the style of this

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

This was a really great experience. Reminded me of Another World/Out of This World. You've created a beautiful landscape :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

First game i've seen that made me wonder how on earth you managed to make this in 48 hours. Just... wow. Obviously very inspired by Another World, it has the same feeling, too. The use of sound and music worked really well too.

Very disturbing and atmospheric. Impressive stuff.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54pm

nice one .
love the graphic style .

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35am

It is out of this world. Great game.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09am

I may not have always known what was happening, but I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:49pm

great.. reminds me of my amiga days.. really good job :)

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Well that escalated quickly! Very surreal, I'd love to play more. Even the gun was pleasant to use, and fitted the atmosphere very well indeed -- a little bit Frank Miller though. ^^

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Excellent.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:05pm

That was pretty surreal alright, I dig the style, and the ambient sound/music and the pitched down voice. Pretty cool.

mathijs750 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:54am

this game is also a game http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=36621

danialhyatt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Good Work!! I absolutely love it. Everything about it. Good sound and art, good story/plot/vibe.. Perfect almost. The shooting element added So much to it. I love the environments/architecture stuff. Everything! The first person views were dope... I could go on and on. Only qualm I have is that it ended.

Continue it pls!!!

gwa says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Amazing! I like the interaction mode very much and the Atmosphere.

praporomsk says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:34am

Wow! Very atmospheric and, probably, the wierdest game on this LD.

GrooveMan says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I get strong Another World vibes from this, which I really like. I was surprised that it didn't point out the gun controls straight away, but fortunately that wasn't too fiddly.

Diptoman says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:43am

Okay, that was amazing. The Another World sort of style totally fits with the ever increasing creepy mood. The sounds were fitting as well. The drawn backgrounds were awesome. Short, but great. The application of the theme wasn't so clear, though.

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:05am

Very cool. Best atmosphere of the games I've played so far. Probably the best overall as well.

May 10, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Super nice graphics, really cool game. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

mcapraro says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:11pm

very neat. the graphic style harkens back to Another World. i could really see a deep story being told in this seeting

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:26am

Strange and enthralling, a bizzare tale of...something. I really enjoyed the visuals and audio, and the whole atmosphere of it. Great stuff.

ErikU says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Incredible atmosphere for such a short game. Very enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]