Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Dead rest Beneath Us

by flrn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game about the ones we bury beneath the surface.
Click on the character in need and drag, to move them away from the dangers.

This is my first submission for Ludum Dare, I hope everything goes well and that I'm not doing anything wrong!

EDIT: I changed the sentence at the end so it's a little clearer what is going on here as it seemed to leave people puzzled... This way I hope peeps will get it quicker! Thanks for playing & rating!
I also haven't had the chance to test either the Windows or the Linux builds, I hope everything works fine there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#13Mood4.32
#58Innovation4.03
#62Audio3.77
#70Overall3.89
#76Graphics4.18
#77Theme3.91
#135Humor3.35
#724Fun2.84

Comments

atash55 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Is it possible to save any of them? I liked the art. Couldnt save any of them

Viza says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34am

Wow. The first game I rated 5 stars here...

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Very nice graphics and physics but I wasn't able to even get close to saving anyone. It felt like I was missing something.

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

I love your idea. The game is very atmospheric, the music and the visuals are very haunting.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I played this game last night. Took me a while to understand what you were doing :) Beautiful and interesting. :)

dylanigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Very hard!

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:30pm

It's awesome! The camera movement, the environment, the music, the rag doll characters, and even the skeletons in the menus and credit scene, all of these elements blend extremely well.

Sad thing is I could not save any of them. May be that's what the creator wants I guess :)

Sanguine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Great mood! Loved the audio and graphics :) It felt very cinematographic

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Thanks for the feedback all! :D

xerohuang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Is it designed to be that you can't save anyone?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Oh God, that last one D:
I though I finally saved someone, and he gets run over by another train :(
Really cool, atmospheric game!

mutuware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Great stuff!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

Awesome ending! Great graphics and physics!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

So sad, but so great. I replayed the first chapter several times before I realized what was going on.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23am

Fantastic job, everything had a really nice look to it too!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44am

Love the music, kind of a hard game though. Still, nice work.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

Geez, impressive! Really really well done!!

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05am

funny as hell

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Wow this was great! One of the best I've played here, even if it was hard as hell! ;)

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I feel bad now :< the two last chapters were particularily well made. That's a really good one !

Nizar89 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Interesting game. Quite sad but intelligent. I felt it as a poetry.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Superb! And why would you choose a take on the them when you can have four! Is the audio yours?

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I don't think you were intending for this game to be as funny as I found it, but it had me laughing my ass off. Any game is a sort of communication between the developer and the player, and the variables in this little exchange between us lined up just right. It being your first submission, me having a very grim sense of humor; the wires in our conversation got crossed in the absolute perfect way that lead me to really enjoy this game for all the wrong reasons.

I'm not making fun of the game by any means; I just have a very grim sense of humor. The train scene? Hilarious. Thank you for making this.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Really clever and impressive execution! The models and the physics are just great!

Luis Anton says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Brilliant. Simply brilliant.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:35am

This is powerfully evocative. Even when I knew what was happening, I could not stop myself from trying.

Normally Humour and Mood are kind of mutually exclusive, but this manages both.

Really fantastic work.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Bro!!! Every one die! And I try so hard...
But nice game ^^ Good use of theme and graphics is very nice.
I like the skull

May 2, 2014 @ 7:47pm

You, sir, are the puppeteer of souls. I tip my hat to you.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:04am

Amazing! The ending is just awesome.

May 4, 2014 @ 6:15pm

This is the vilest game i've seen.
Not it Ludum Dare, in my entire life.

Thank you for ruining my day.
You'll still get a bunch o' stars from me anyway.

JavadocMD says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Very nicely put together and very grim, but with an evocative message.

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Hm... Interesting entry. Real art I think.
Great job!

leparlon says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:50pm

For some reason I found myself literally holding my breath on second chapter. Good job.

recursor says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:40am

Quite difficult but well done.

May 5, 2014 @ 12:43am

Hey! Your torture-device-hidden-inside-a-game is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

FrameMatt says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:08am

Couldn't make it xD,
but i really enjoyed!

jerombd says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Nice idea served by quick little interactions! Short but really well-made!

DarkMeatGames says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Wow, really amazing! Loved the music, loved the art. Really great. Perfect mood. Fun was lacking a little bit, but it honestly didn't matter, I loved the art and music so much.

May 6, 2014 @ 2:17am

The idea was amazing but the execution was not.
I dont know if i was playing the right way but i couldnt save any of them.
Very frustrating

idovingx says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:20pm

maybe my favorite game so far

idovingx says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:21pm

do you have a website with other stuff you've made?

Anoarith says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Didn't see that ending coming ahah !

May 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

I could not save them D: But, I love the idea and the game! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

paps says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:50pm

this game is really hard. could not save anyone

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:31pm

wow - creepy but awesome - there was real emotion there with me trying to save them - awesome

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I guess you can't actually save anyone. I tried awhile on the first chapter thinking I was doing something wrong. Kind of frustrating rather than poignant until you catch on. Also, the connection to theme is a bit thin besides the title and a few of the scenes. The wheel chair one isn't related at all. Funny how you want to save them (and try) even though it doesn't seem possible. Nice low polys and mood. Very morbid.

Crefossus says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:44pm

The dark values, blues, lighting, and overall graphics help keep up the dreary mood to the game. All of the modeling and the number of environments is very impressive for 48 hr to me.

The drawback is that it's not really "fun" nor is it meant to be I suppose...Although I did think of an achievements like "do a flip" for the underwater guy.

Also since you were going so much for mood I feel like sound fx/sound design could really have really pushed it even further. The music worked ok, but it could have been a little more depressing/moody. So little time though!

Crefossus says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I also made a video/thoughts about this game :D http://www.twitch.tv/crefossus/c/4229741

hnjslater says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Ghastly (but it an amazing way!)

Oye Beto says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:50am

I can see the experimental/artsy side of the concept "you can't beat death" that's why I'm rating you 5 in mood but this approach takes too much from gameplay (2 stars on fun).

I always like seeing experimental games in LD because they're more original (or at least try to be).

Oh and nice graphics :)
If you have unity pro you should experiment with camera effects like bloom, vignette or any of them.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:55am

Like the innovation

kristof says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Very good graphics and music. The controls felt frustrating, as the dragging lost its effect, when the cursor hit the border of the window. Also I was able to get the last person off the tracks, but the game still recognized it as a loss.

iambored2006 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:59am

Hey! I mentioned your game in this post- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/18/10-games-that-resonated-with-me/ , along with some feedback. I'd love to hear what you have to say!

pansapiens says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:37am

That's quite dark - but we need more games where we are helpless rather than all powerful, so it's a thumbs up from me (I'm assuming they can't be saved). You did well creating and animating all these models in a short timeframe too. Chapter 5 should be attempting tax evasion :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]