Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lumberjack of souls

by TheMorfeus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ludum dare, ever! But it's buggy. Lacking gameplay. And generally, i am not happy with it. Consider it more of a tech demo than a real game, yet if you choose to play it, have fun.

====CONTROLS====
A - move left
D - move right
Space - jump
Left click (anywhere) - use the axe


IF IT IS NOT WORKING make sure you unzip it before opening!
If still not working, pls get the stacktrace of error and post it in comments, thanks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#476Humor2.54
#548Audio2.79
#592Graphics3.12
#783Innovation2.74
#789Mood2.73
#793Theme2.97
#837Overall2.89
#870Fun2.66

Comments

J.Barrows says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I really enjoyed it. Surprisingly tight controls.

Havacore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

I enjoyed it, could've made it a bit more rewarding to attack the souls that come out of the trees.

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Can't make it running on my Mac OS X 10.9.2

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I liked the minimalist pixel art of the character. Collision detection could use some work. I got caught on the corner of a block a couple of times. Jumping got me unstuck so it wasn't a big deal. More content and this could be a pretty interesting game. Not bad for being 18 hours late to the competition.

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Nicely polished. Although the core gameplay was not so exciting. I was just cutting down trees. There were too few ghosts/enemies/excitement.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

@pandamicro what's the error? or if there isn't any, if you know how, could you give me the stacktrace?

@Kalabasa
i know, i planned on making more enemies etc, buuuut i ran out of time and sanity

@sknoslo
Thanks! And i know about collisions problem, i couldn't find a way to fix it in time.

Cezel_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

It was really fun and it felt really smooth and stable.
Very enjoyable game!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

For a first Ludum Dare game this is real good.
Can't be your first game though.

Some depth in the game and narrative too!

Real good job.

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

not working on mac +1

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

@PaperBlurt no, it is not my first game ever ;)

Can anyone that has a Mac test it and give me a stacktrace or something? thanks in advance!

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Feels solid and polished. It was fine and interesting, got repetitive soon, but still.

Johan Eklund says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I really liked the graphics and the music was very fitting. You definitely have something you could keep building on here!

Aomeas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

Launching it on Mac OSX by double clicking isn't working, but the command line "java -jar game.jar" works fine if you're in the directory.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Game didn't run when I doubled clicked the jar, but it worked when running java -jar from the terminal (OS X)!

Good things:
* Tree gradually getting cut sprites were cool.
* Particles were cool.
* Atmosphere was cool.
* Would have liked to see more!

Bad things:
* Graphics are perhaps a bit dark, but maybe it's my screen.
* Edge of the map is visible on one of the levels.
* Mixing keyboard and mouse controls isn't great for user experience.

For being 18 hours late starting... great effort!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Game started out pretty strong but quickly got repetitive. Lots of room to add interesting challenges in. Also the text appear for too short time and sometimes you can't get it to appear again, you need to balance it for slow readers such as me :)

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Really cool graphics ! Simple gameplay but still fun to play.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:07pm

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

It's a shame how it's just a metagun with different levels and slightly different graphics.. Shame on you!

Tl;Dr: it's stolen basically
MyDarKnightMare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Actually I wrote the code myself and used the metagun graphics as a base and I forgot to change them.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

@MyDarKnightMare please don't spam in here. And you forgot to change the title of JFrame ;)

@Gwinnell thanks for so in-depth review! I know about map corner, but noticed it too late, and thought that it's not a thing i should change during ludum dare. Also, i thought about keyboard-only controls and i might switch to that. Thanks again!

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:41pm

@MyDarKnightMare also, you didn't even change package names. It's just metagun with different levels, even code-wise.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:51pm

@TheMorfeus It is not and i also

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Sorry i meant to say i was originally going to do a metagun game so thats why the JFrame was like that.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57pm

@TheMorfeus also I'm not sure you read the description.
"My First Ludum Dare.I am 12 years old."

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:19am

Nice job :) I really like this style of pixel art, even though it's simple. Music was very fitting as well. Solid entry

TheMorfeus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:07pm

@micdoode8 thank you, i really love this kind of pixel art myself :)

@MyDarKnightMare It does not matter how old you are. The modification dates of files, package names, png data, everything shows that it is stolen code from the game Metagun. It doesn't matter how old You are, You violated the rules of the compo.

Bekokstover says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Does not work on Mac for me either.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:52pm

The text at the end faded too fast, couldn't read it all. Where was the soul residue? Not a ton of enemies, but good controls/collision. Overall, not half bad.

TheMorfeus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:54pm

@Empyrealhell I forgot to remove the residue message. The residue is in code, but it's buggy and doesn't work properly.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:44am

seemed to end abrubtly for me just when I was getting into it - nice effort

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I expected a lot worse from the description, good job on your first Ludum Dare game! I think the game could've just used keyboard controls (AD + W to jump and maybe arrow keys for directional swings of the axe or something :P). Works great and looks ok.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 12, 2014 @ 1:54am

Really cool story and graphics! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/06U_lc3kLp4

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]