Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fishy Buisness

by BooleanByte - Jam Entry

Save the depressed buisnesspeople that ate jumping from the rooftops by fishing.

Designer: Christina Lewis
Programmer:Benjamin Benjaminsen
Art: Tormod Berge
Christina Lewis
Sound:Martin Kvale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#145Mood(Jam)3.60
#187Graphics(Jam)3.85
#232Theme(Jam)3.44
#244Humor(Jam)2.89
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#368Overall(Jam)3.21
#551Fun(Jam)2.65

Comments

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:13am

Great idea (I think depressed underwather businesspeople are quite unique;)!
But it could have used some more mechanics (maybe some condition to lose, highscore, different kinds of businesspeople, ...) to make it entertaining for a little longer ...

AutumnGuy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:28am

Great execution!

Love the graphics and the whole atmosphere. Well done.

peterrstanley says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:19pm

The graphics are great. At first, I was a bit confused on how to play the game, but it was enjoyable after.

May 4, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Strange game... Great graphics but ..strange ^^

Daiwen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Great atmosphere. I realy loved the graphisme and the music.
The gameplay lacks game mechanics but I enjoy playing it.

01F0 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:16pm

The music and graphics are lovely, they make a great atmosphere! Good work!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I wish there were more to do! I wanted to be able to grab multiple people with one hook, or at least buy a multi-hook upgrade or something :)

trvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:38pm

A great take on the theme, but as others have said it could have used a lot more to keep the player entertained as it quickly got boring. Great job.

porglezomp says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

Funny, and pretty, but lacking on the gameplay.
It took a little bit to figure out how it worked, and then it was fun grabbing them for a while, but it ended up sort of being a fatigue game. Perhaps having fewer fall, but faster would be more fun, and also allowing multiple men per hook, so that my throws could have more strategy.

May 10, 2014 @ 9:54am

Strange little game...
It could have done with a bit more gameplay, but it's a cool concept nonetheless! Congrats! :)

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Nice moody music. I like the graphics, with the fishes in the background. Cool idea!

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Couldn't get the game to work on windows. I followed the read me and I have java installed. It says 'java' is unrecognized as a command on my system, but I've been running other dev's .jar files all compo long. Not sure what's up, sorry.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:04am

different idea and the mechanic was solid - nice job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]