Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Layered

by Jessica Hayley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry ever! :D

This relates to the theme because the player "character" has layers, and when it gets hit it goes...beneath the surface I guess? Less surfacey? It loses surface area anyhow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Fun3.64
#289Overall3.46
#433Innovation3.24
#575Theme3.24
#868Graphics2.67
#1024Mood2.42
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34am

Like a square jawbreaker, the main player ;) . I liked this for what it was! It's like a single screen bullet-hell shooter.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53am

Really tight and good design!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Nice and simple. I enjoyed it more than some of the more complex games I've tried.

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43am

It's actually a nice mechanic how the game gets easier as you get damaged.

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49am

nice game. :) like your way of doing the theme - very "outside the box".. or inside.. because.. your a box.. pun?

:D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Very simple game but very playable and feels good to control. I like your take on the theme.

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I liked your game. It's hard to find a submission where the theme is interpreted in a game design.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44am

I like it, the game becoming easier as you go is an interesting idea.

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

Great game

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

Really nice and simple game. Most games like this tend to get harder and harder and you score points faster and faster, but in some respects this game gets easier as you take hits which is a really neat twist.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48am

Nice job! Especially for your first entry!

Super original use of the theme, loved it.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48am

I really like how tight and complete this game feels, as simple as it is. Small details, like less score with less layer is a big plus, good job!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

Dev here: I have a question for everyone - In its current state, as you lose layers, you get less points (# of points you get per second is equal to the number of layers). Do you think this is necessary? Is the lesser protection enough to justify getting the same amount of points no matter how 'small' you are? Maybe the point value change should be adjusted? (Going from 8/sec to 4/sec instead of from 8/sec to 1/sec)

I'm interested to hear people's thoughts (I won't be adjusting these because the jam is over, I'm just wondering in case I pursue this game further).
Thanks! ^_^

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

Interesting game, pretty fun:), although I wonder if maybe the last layer should be something other than black, but nice job:)

Miltage says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Simple design and well executed. Shows that you can do a lot with a little. Good job!

To answer your question: I don't think you should alter the amount of points you get at all. Keep the difficulty constant. As it stands right now, you lose layers making it easier to dodge, but the bullets get faster so the difficulty is constant. Don't punish people for the same amount of difficulty.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Fun and simple, great metaphor with the theme. Beneath the surface you are the same as the bullets. :D
Could use some music though.

About your question see Miltage's post, I agree with him/her.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Fits the theme better than most :)

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:45pm

A solid entry, I enjoyed the mechanic of avoiding being hit making the game easier!

WhiteVoidia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:10am

@Miltage: Thanks for the feedback, and I completely agree with your point. I'll keep that in mind for future designs :)

@Everyone: Thanks for your kind words ^_^

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Nice game, pretty simple, but the concept is cool. Good job for your first entry! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]