Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sun Fusion

by NoorStudios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What fules the sun? You do!

How to play:

* Drag the spheres to apply force on them.
* Black spheres connect.
* 2 orange spheres makes sun warmer
* 2 blue spheres makes sun colder
* orange + blue is neutral.
** Sun must not get too hot or too cold. **

Play the web version. I don't even know if the windows one is working. If you try it please let me know @NoorStudios, or in comments, thanks!

Web + Mac + Android is tested and is working.

******* ! ! ! Note ! ! ! ******
I took the liberty to fix the bug that was making the sun fusion spheres unpredictable to control as it essentially made the game unplayable. Turned out my sleep-deprived self was adding force inside onMouseDrag rather than after the drag was done. I hope this little fix lies within the allowed post deadline bug fixes and does not disqualify me. Otherwise at least I provided you with a more enjoyable game which is good enough for me =)

Edit:
Added a tutorial picture to help explain the gameplay

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#272Innovation3.48
#706Graphics2.93
#821Audio2.22
#894Theme2.83
#965Humor1.83
#1010Mood2.44
#1060Overall2.63
#1205Fun1.98

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10am

Took some time to figure out how to control this, but after that it's quite cool!

I love that you've tied this game to some sort of reality, it wouldn't be so fun if it was abstract.

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

I was pretty excited to try this after reading the concept. Unfortunately the mechanics were very awkward for me. I'd be very interested to see where you could take this game in the future.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Thanks! yeah, I will definetly change the controls in the future.. my idea was to apply force on the spheres rather then dragging them directly, but i think it makes the game too difficult to control. Unfortunately I realized that too late to change it. Glad you liked the concept though, I'm planning to develop it further for Android/iOS.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Hard to understand the controls but gold game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50am

This is a neat idea but I found it a bit frustrating to control. I'd love to try a version with those unpredictable sun fusion sphere physics sorted out! ;)

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01am

I found the silliness that was causing all this unpredictability, unfortunately after the deadline :/ Anyways, I updated the game hoping it lies within the allowed post deadline bug fix exception (it's a matter of a misplaced line of code).... feel free to try it again, it actually makes sense now ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12am

Blowing up suns: favorite pastime of galactic masterminds everywhere. Granted, it's on a much smaller scale, but eh.

Chaotic and fun. Good job!

SoumyaXeored says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

It is somewhat hard to figure out what to do but after that its enjoyable!
Good work!

nesis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

A novel game, though somewhat confusing to figure out. Things don't seem to behave consistently, or perhaps I'm just not understanding how they're meant to behave and how my control of them influences that behaviour.

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Had a hard time figuring out what's going on. But a great attempt at a different style of game comparing to other entries.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

You need to connect the spheres to make sun warmer or colder. Black spheres are connectors. Connect a colored sphere to a black one, then another of the same color to affect sun temperature. Orange makes warmer, blue makes colder. Keep the sun not to hot, not too cold. You add force to spheres by clicking on them and dragging mouse down.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Like the concept fun. good job.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Thanks!

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Cool, I think it's a good game experiment!

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Really great idea, sadly the eratic movement's are difficult to master!

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Thanks for the comments! For those of you who still find it difficult to control, which platform are you using (web/windows/osx/android)? and what difficulty are you experiencing? I am asking to know if the old bug is still out there in one of the builds, or if the controls are simply too complicated. All input is highly appreciated!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

The core game is pretty neat, but the controls are a bit sensitive. I tried the web version and as soon as I let go of the mouse after moving an orb, the orb flings off to the side.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

found it a bit confusing to play. I was dragging spheres left and right, and things connected and vanished.. but wasn't really feeling in control :) Interesting concept, great graphics, just needs a bit more explanation I think

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! =)

KevinWorkman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:02am

I'm playing on android. Like others have said, it's pretty difficult to control. The circles don't always respond to touch, and when they do, it's not in a very predictable way. But I like the idea here so I hope you keep refining it!

NoorStudios says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:54am

Thanks :) I will work on it post-compo yes.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26am

Very nice game. I like the mechanics, they seem to work well! :)

Would like to see it expanded in some way.

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I think my computer is a bit too slow for it - there were hardly any balls on screen, and they jiggled around a lot. I'll have to give it another go when I'm not stuck with my laptop. :)

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:35pm

The idea is pretty cool, but the game could use better controls and feedback.

atombrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very cool idea but it is a bit fiddly now. But with some work on the mechanics this could be nice stressful arcadegame ;)

NoorStudios says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Thanks! Definitely will work on the mechanics yes. @PapyGaragos: I agree with you about the feedback as well, the temperature bar was literally implemented 5 min before deadline.. lol

May 2, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Interesting take on the theme. Quite an neat idea having to balance the temperature. I found the gameplay itself a little too basic though, and sometimes I found myself waiting for black spheres to spawn, making it a bit boring at times. Pretty cool concept though.

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Just played it with the updated controls. Naaah, too easy and simple now, it had STYLE before. :D

NoorStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:12pm

@mortus LOL!!! =D I guess this balancing act is going to take a while... ;)

Michael Grand says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

First off, I'd like to say that the picture tutorial really helped! Short, simple, easy to understand, and to the point.

That said, I had a lot of trouble figuring out how to get two spheres to connect :( I could get one to connect to the black sphere, but getting that second orange/blue sphere to connect was quite confusing. I eventually figured out that you just have to wait a bit before they interact (explode); I was expecting immediate feedback and the lack of it really confused me.

There also doesn't seem to be a "You Win!" objective, but this is a 48 hour entry so I don't really think that's a negative :)

I like how the spheres will rotate around each other when connected; I don't know why, but it really adds something to the visual side of this.

Overall, good game :D

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Couldn't tell what I was doing, if it was having a good or bad effect.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]