Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Angler: Beneath the Surface

by helloWorldStudios - Jam Entry

1,000 miles below the surface of the ocean, the Angler fish hunts it's prey.

Swim around as the Angler fish in this first person Fish 'Em Up, using your bulb to deceive sharks, dodge jellyfish and eat un-willing fishy victims.
The game has 3 difficulties; progressively getting harder and harder.
How far will you go to survive in nature's harshest environment?



The Web player is acting a bit dodgy today, if the page doesn't load play the Windows version.



CONTROLS:

Hold the left mouse button to swim.
Release the mouse to break.
Move the mouse to control the movement.
Press SPACE to toggle the head torch.
Hold SHIFT to fast swim.



All code and models created after the start of the competition, we entered the jam as we are a team.

Framework and Programming by Troy Atkinson

Level Design and Modelling by Archie Andrews

Voices by Tom Screech

Font (Piston Pressure) by Andrew McCluskey

Ambient sounds by freesfx.co.uk & relaxingsounds.spinshop.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#109Theme(Jam)3.70
#154Overall(Jam)3.55
#168Humor(Jam)3.14
#224Innovation(Jam)3.33
#252Fun(Jam)3.21
#269Graphics(Jam)3.64
#306Mood(Jam)3.19
#473Audio(Jam)2.82

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

I LOVE THE GAME! So fun and I love the explorative feel to it.

Galan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

The controls are a bit difficult to work with (the pitch, in particular is really oversensitive), but I like the idea, and the graphics and audio are top-notch.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08am

Thanks for the feedback, I don't think the controls are properly explained, make sure you hold the mouse down and move it to move around. Let go of the mouse to stop moving. (:

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

Mouse is a little oversensitive, but other than that I like it!

Sink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

fun and cool to explore the sea! The movement is a bit slippery. I liked the ambient sea noises and stuff!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54am

Thank you both for the feedback, the sensitive mouse is because of a lack of testing (I was rushing to meet the deadline), I play on a really high sensitivity so I never noticed it myself. Apologies for that! And the movement was the hardest part to code, I was really trying to get an under-water fishy like feel to the movement rather than a robotic-sudden movement terminator-fish or something. Glad you liked it!

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Hehe this is great, though the controls need a little tweaking. And just to nit pick a bit, don't angler fish work the other way around? I mean sitting still waiting for their prey to be attracted to the light? ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Thanks for your response dook,I just fixed the movement and the sounds that were broken. And yeah it is meant to be the other way around haha but that would be too easy ;P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

nice one, i really loved the end when you starve to death!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Thanks perfect victim!(:

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:32am

The dead corpse floating fish at the end made me give this game maximum humor score. Haha!

vigrid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

From mloteczka: The sound is awesome, especially the nom nom sound. I love what fishes say when they're eaten. I always wanted to be a fish

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Pretty fun little game you guys have here. I really liked the random audio clips. Haha.

Oh btw, the web version wasn't loading for me?

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:37pm

The humour was great, but the controls were finicky. *ba dum tsh* :)

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Controls are insanely hard to use. I overshot everything I tried to hit. I like the use of the light, though.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:08am

Thanks for the feedback everyone, I'm glad people seem to enjoy the humor! (: We understand the controls are a little hard to pick up, it was simply due to time constraints. And the site we're hosting it on is temporary while we set the main site up.

StoneMasters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Good humor. I was going "nom nom nom" to cheer it on!

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Incredible, tuning the controls to reduce inertia and it's done!, nailed it, very fun

May 3, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Thanks a lot (:

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:15am

Haha, that's great work. The movement is a bit odd, and not to sure about M1 to move all around, but it was entertaiing and unusal. The shark didn't really seem to be much of a threat though, and how come the Jellyfish electrocuted?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]