Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Moon Mystery

by qntnm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(This may not work for Internet Explorer, but has been tested on both recent versions of Chrome and Firefox and seem to work well!)

You work for NASA and start a mission to discover what the moon is really made of, but run into some issues on the way!

Your rocket (arrow keys) has a primary gun (X) and a "blaster" (Z), the blaster does a lot more damage the more it's charged, use it wisely!

It did have some more music, but Musagi crashed on two different pieces so I left the menu music in there alone. :(

This is my first "real" game I've made, and I'm super happy that I was able to make something to submit! If you dare to delve into my source, please keep in mind that I'm used to languages like Java and C# where some things are dealt with quite differently than Javascript! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#241Humor3.00
#505Fun3.08
#505Innovation3.13
#734Audio2.41
#835Theme2.92
#891Overall2.84
#917Graphics2.60
#973Mood2.50
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Loved it! Really liked the intro!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01am

Nice intro, the graphics look good!

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

I really like it! Gameplay feels a little floaty, but thats ok - SPACEEEE.

shaneparsons says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

Pretty good game, very hard too! Too me a while to pass but got there in the end!

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49am

It's like constantly fighting and endboss of R-Type - liked it

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:56am

the moon could have been a bit easier to destroy ;) takes a lot of time!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I was doing ok until the moon killed me.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Could be a cool take on a 'boss fight' game. The moon had too much health for my liking, maybe there's a more interesting way to keep it difficult? Keep it up!

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

The intro was fantastic. I found it really difficult however to control the ship, I know but its space physics, but I would often find myself going off screen and unable to track my location. Still, I had a lot of fun!

Melondonut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

phew it is hard to beat!

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Fun! I like the idea. The controls were really difficult to get the hang of. Since you're always facing the center anyway, it might have felt better if you used left/right to rotate around the moon and up/down to move closer or farther away.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:12am

Very fun but gets almost impossible because of the weird controls. I wish I could beat it but after three tries I get destroyed by the third stage. Still, it's a well done game and with some polish it can be very enjoyable!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I really like the idea of stretching out a boss battle into a game. I really wanted to see what the moon was made of! Alas, I couldn't make it past the ice moon.

I had a little difficulty with the controls, particularly bounding off the side of the screen. I found it a little hard to control my speed.

Portals says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Great game! It was really fun and complete game!

loxo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Game with good concept and nice audio. It's fun to play, but a bit hard. Maybe you could improve the controls to make it easier.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]