Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Caves

by Strandmullen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a roguelike where you venture deep into a cave and defeat monsters and find powerups to level up. Permadeath, turn based combat, random levels, variety in monsters and powerups.

Controls can be found in game.

Extract content from "Monster Caves.zip".
Run "Monster Caves.exe" to launch game.

Please report any issues.
Any feedback is much appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#919Humor1.92
#968Fun2.52
#999Audio1.65
#1060Overall2.63
#1064Theme2.45
#1088Mood2.30
#1165Graphics2.10
#1198Innovation2.02

Comments

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Cool game idea. Please vote for my game.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Seems to be a bit unbalanced. Your actions don't make much difference and the only thing that really matters is how lucky you are. Try to add some more interesting choices to the game.

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

It was fun for me, but it's typical dungeon game, which is not anything new and does not include anything new. But it was really funny for me!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I found some nice aspects to this game. I liked how one of the key strategies was not to get surrounded and also I liked how the level became revealed once you killed all the monsters on it. Some different terrain would have been cool.

Havacore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nothing too special. I tried attacking and lost most of my HP by the time I killed the guy, so being able to attack is a pretty useless strategy, and you basically just need to be lucky with where you're going.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

NEEEEED HEAL ! :p
I like rogue like, so I only can like your game :D. Too quiet, but the base are here :)

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I also wanted to make a turn-based game :D
I like the idea and it is fun to play but it is repeating.
If there would be some kind of labyrinth it would be more fun. I think that it has potential.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

reached level 9 :) - it is quite fun, but as Kragnir said, it's too much luck based for my taste.

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Its a decent start to a roguelike, but you really really need some terrain and escape abilities or something. It felt like being thrown into a blender to see how long you can survive without being able to escape from the enemies.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48pm

What am I supposed to do?

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Eh, its more or less just a typical dungeon crawler, with no real specific twist or usage of the theme. It was fun, but bland and forgettable.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:36am

Although I like the roguelike side, I could not go further than the 9th level because my character was either too weak or too damaged to continue; balancing a game can be pretty hard.
Some audio could have been nice, on hitting/being hit for example.

CodeNMore says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Not a bad game, kind of fun!

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:26am

Neat. Really didn't get what was going on though.

607 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:16am

Once I had developed a bit of a strategy I got 10 levels deep, player level 13. It played well, I didn't really get why you could see the whole room after killing all the monsters though. I like how you get more strenght and armor and can refill/strenghten your health a little bit, and how the enemies keep getting stronger too. At first I didn't get that you actually had to battle them, so the enemies were way over leveled in only 3 floors. But of course that's a good thing, because it makes you fight and strategize. Some music and sound effects would be good.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]