Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eva the Devil Cat

by b222ster - Jam Entry

WASD/ARROW keys to move;
Use mouse to aim and shoot;

Press - 'F' - To see what lies Beneath the Surface (available after 100 kills)

(This is my first game ever, enjoy)

########################################

Thank you for your comments and feedback. My first LD has been really fun!! I'll go play all you guys' games now :)

########################################

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#576Humor(Jam)2.03
#658Audio(Jam)1.62
#700Fun(Jam)2.17
#721Mood(Jam)2.00
#731Theme(Jam)1.91
#734Overall(Jam)2.28
#744Innovation(Jam)1.94
#754Graphics(Jam)1.81

Comments

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

Very simplistic game. Funny for some moments but quickly grows boring (and hard ;) ). Might be a bit better if you could auto fire and didn't have to click for every shot.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53am

This is an okay game, really good for your first!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Simple and challenging. Needs some polish, but overall, a fun "twin-stick" shooter. Also, I got to say that I played your game because of the title. Need to learn from that ;).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

"Simple and challenging" I'm ok with that. GG for your first game ! :p

Stuffie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Fun game but man is it brutal, my clicky finger is cramping up. Great first game though !

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40pm

You balanced the enemy movement and your fire rate very well! Good job!

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Crashes everytime I get hit once sorry, on safari if that helps

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Controls are tough without a mouse. Auto-fire would be nice or some more powerful targeted fire.

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02am

Wrong combination of mouse/keyboard action.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Hey congrats on your first game! The difficulty curve might be a bit too steep but at least you got something that runs and that is enjoyable.

b222ster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I don't know how much bugfixing is allowed, but I would love to address the issues with the hitbox size, gamefreeze on death and the fact that it spawns you with 1 life instead f 3.
So if anyone has a link or information about that, please say tell.

elefantopia says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:53am

Good game, definitely a challenge. It would be nice to have a counter of how many kills?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]